Rainbow Veggie Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
The best vegetarian chili recipe I've had. This is a beautiful looking and delicious tasting recipe. For the meat-needers, just stir some browned ground meat of your choice it. But I had meat lovers and vegetarians swooning over this one alike. And cornbread or a cheese bread is an awesome side for this, by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by all4orange5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissajean
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Very delicious! I added ground turkey and used 2 zucchini and 2 yellow squash. I added 1 teaspoon of cumin and a little extra chili powder because of my additions. I also used frozen corn instead of the canned. I only used a couple spoonfuls of tomato paste. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissajean
Home Town: Alpine, California, USA
Living In: La Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
This recipe was even better than we'd hoped. I omitted the yellow squash (didn't have any) and added a yellow pepper (along with the green pepper.) I also added a can of diced tomatoes because that's what I had in the pantry. Since we aren't vegetarians, we added grated chedder cheese to the top. I also added LA Gold Hot sauce. But again, that was post-cooking. Serve this with some good corn bread and you'll score a home run! You won't be disappointed with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Great vegetarian dish. It wasn't as difficult to make as I had anticipated. I don't like yellow squash and omitted that and substituted a yellow pepper for the green pepper and also left out the jalapeno. Make sure you stir it occasionally as it's cooking, or else you'll end up scraping a lot of burnt chili from the bottom of the pot. Very filling; will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This was AWESOME!!! I added ground turkey and used an "Italian herb" flavored tomato paste. Thats it! The only hard part is the chopping (I cut myself :( ) After your done, just throw it in the pot and wait! I set my timer in 15 min. increments to stir. Really, this could not have come out any better. Just a dollop of Daisy is all you will need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I made this chili for my boyfriend for his birthday...and it was fantastic! I added ground turkey and green chillis instead of jalepenos. I think next time I'll try to make it more spicy...but it was wonderful regardless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Yum! I used more squash and less bell pepper and threw in some mushroom, but everything else I followed exactly. My friends and I were very pleased with the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Added ground turkey - very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
My husband and I are not Vegans, but had been on a voluntary "fast" with our church that had us eating only foods eaten by Vegans, with a few more restrictions. I found this recipe and we both really liked it. Be warned, it is SPICY, but really good. The next time I'd probably cut some of the ingredients that make it so hot, since my kids couldn't eat it, but other than that it's great. I actually served it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
added ground chicken (we just wanted to add more veggies to our diet) also took out the bell peper replaced it with an eggplant. and this rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aura_bryt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gretna, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Grayland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States