Rainbow Sherbet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I've made this twice and gotten rave reviews both times. The second time I tried some tricks that made it much easier. I softened the sherbert in the fridge for 1-2 hours first and put the angel food cake in the freezer which made it easier to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
This cake is beautiful and delicious. I served it at my best friend's wedding shower, and everyone was impressed. I would recommend freezing the cake after making the sherbet layers. About an hour later, frost it, and then freeze it again. Otherwise it gets too sloppy. Thanks for a delicious and elegant recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2001
This was way too easy to be so good. It was nice and cool on a warm evening and very light. I will use this often. It makes you look like you've been working hard at a fancy dessert....it takes 15 min. max. Thanks again M Morel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
A very nice and refreshing summer dessert that's pretty as well. I also froze the cake before slicing and softened the sherbet for easier spreading. I had quart containers of sherbet and think I probably got more than a pint of each on the layers--maybe too much. Take the cake out of the freezer for about 15 minutes before serving for easier cutting. It also has more flavor when not solidly frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
Yummy! What a light, refreshing & still very flavorful dessert. My sister made this & we just loved it. She froze the cake for about an hour in between arranging the layers & frosting it. I just made it for Mother's Day & did the same but also waited until only about a half hour before serving to do the whipped cream frosting, as it made the topping just slightly frozen. I also used an orange angel food cake because there wasn't any orange sherbet (I used rainbow and lemon-lime). Mmmm! Mmmm! Mmmm! Guilt-free dessert & lovely presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2001
Loved this cake. It is quick and easy to make and turns out very pretty. It's perfect for summer when you don't want to heat up the kitchen with baking a dessert. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
my sister loved this cake. It was really easy to make and put together thanks for the wonderful cake recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morton, Washington, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Didn't go with the "rainbow"; instead I used only raspberry sherbet and decorated the top with some raspberry jam. It looked very pretty. I made this for a birthday party--the women were all thrilled that they didn't have to politely decline a slice of cake, and surprise! the men liked it too. Very easy. Definitely will make it in the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Yay for an easy summer dessert. Cool and refreshing. Malinda's review was spot on. I got a lil' carried away and used two tubs of lite cool whip. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
I just got back from a 4th of July picnic and everyone loved this dessert. They picked it over homemade pies, snickers cake and an ice cream cake from Dairy Queen. needless to say I didn't have any left to bring home. It is so easy and good I know I will make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States