Rainbow Sherbet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
we all loved this. easy to put together. nice and light. perfect for summer. thanks for the post VITE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This was very pretty, and delicious! It was the perfect ending for our Easter dinner. I didn't use angel food cake, I used "Simple White Cake" from here. I made 2 9 inch rounds, which I cut in half. For the sherbet, I softened the three colors, then spread each in a 9 inch round cake pan and froze that. After they were frozen, I dipped each in hot water and put the frozen layer on the cut cake. Simple as can be, no fussing with trying to spread sherbet on the cake, and the layers were even and pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Simple recipe and perfect dessert for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Thank you so much! My sister has a bunch of health issues and recently had to go on a dairy free diet for two weeks that would've gone into her 15th birthday party. This was the perfect, bright, summery substitute for an ice cream cake! And easy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Great summer dessert. You don't even have to turn the oven on if you use a store bought angel food cake. Followed the advise of others and froze the cake before slicing and softening the sherbert in the frig. So easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I would have like the angel food cake to stay soft,but I guess there is not a way to do that once it gets frozen..made a big amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo Marino Rhodes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, New York, USA
Living In: Sharpsburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I'm so excited to find this recipe that I'll be back to review it much later...but i already know it's awesome. This is the recipe my Aunt Julia (w/ her horn-rimmed-rhine-stoned glasses & sss...SUPER pointy bra n' all...) took to her grave! We loved her and we loved this cake! I have vivid memories of its' delicious-ness from years...ago! Thank you VITE! THANK you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doe-ray-mee-fah-soh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
my sister loved this cake. It was really easy to make and put together thanks for the wonderful cake recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morton, Washington, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This cake was a great and refreshing treat for the hot weather we are having here. I made this and took it to work my co workers really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Instead of sherbet, I used strawberry ice cream (softened) and then after I iced w/ whipped topping I garnished with real strawberries. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States