Rainbow Sherbet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
WOW!!! I made this for my parents, sister, brother in law and there 2 kids. Everyone loved it!!! It was sooooo easy! Great desert for after a heavy meal because its so light! I will be making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Haltom City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
A very nice and refreshing summer dessert that's pretty as well. I also froze the cake before slicing and softened the sherbet for easier spreading. I had quart containers of sherbet and think I probably got more than a pint of each on the layers--maybe too much. Take the cake out of the freezer for about 15 minutes before serving for easier cutting. It also has more flavor when not solidly frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I've made this twice and gotten rave reviews both times. The second time I tried some tricks that made it much easier. I softened the sherbert in the fridge for 1-2 hours first and put the angel food cake in the freezer which made it easier to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This is a great recipe. I made this as a trifle, and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
A pain in my butt to make, but such a delicious result! I suppose it's my own fault that I didn't think about the angel food cake soaking in the sherbet. I had to work quickly, which was messy and annoying, but after freezing the result was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
This was a fast and easy recipe for Moms who just dont have the time to spend all day in the kitchen. My son turned 5 and loves sherbert Ice Cream!! I made a change in the Sherbert though. I used Lemon Burst sherbert, and Raspberry sherbert. And I cut the Angel food cake in 3 instead of 4!! This recipe was wonderful. I think I used more than a Pint of each sherber also! I really packed on the ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Didn't go with the "rainbow"; instead I used only raspberry sherbet and decorated the top with some raspberry jam. It looked very pretty. I made this for a birthday party--the women were all thrilled that they didn't have to politely decline a slice of cake, and surprise! the men liked it too. Very easy. Definitely will make it in the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
This is the best summertime cake!! I served it to my husband and sons after returning from soccer practice and they loved it. It is so refreshing and not killer sweet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
Cake was not as flavorful as it was pretty. The sherbets' flavor did not go well together for my family's taste. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
Yummy! What a light, refreshing & still very flavorful dessert. My sister made this & we just loved it. She froze the cake for about an hour in between arranging the layers & frosting it. I just made it for Mother's Day & did the same but also waited until only about a half hour before serving to do the whipped cream frosting, as it made the topping just slightly frozen. I also used an orange angel food cake because there wasn't any orange sherbet (I used rainbow and lemon-lime). Mmmm! Mmmm! Mmmm! Guilt-free dessert & lovely presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States