Rainbow Sherbet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Jilmarie2000
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
For My sons 3 year birthday party I was making a large meal for family from out of town.. so this was a easy way to have a creative cake without spending all my time in the kitchen baking! Not to mention how inexpensive it was! He loves sherbert and was soooo happy with the cake. Not to mention that the Angel Food made it a less guilty inudulgence for us adults! Try a low sugar icecream and it really cut the calories. with the choices of icecream now, the kids won't know the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilmarie2000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Yay for an easy summer dessert. Cool and refreshing. Malinda's review was spot on. I got a lil' carried away and used two tubs of lite cool whip. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
this is a great summer treat. so easy to make.it's perfect for after a heavy meal of BBQ. i used a 10 inch angle food cake, and 16 ozs of cool whip. i froze the angle food cake before cutting, than only sliced in 3 sections. thawed sherbert, and cool whip in frig before layering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I HAVE NOT EVEN TAKEN A BITE OF THIS YUMMY DESSERT, AND I ALREADY KNOW IT WILL BE 5-STAR! My grocery store did not have any angel food cakes (Duh -the day before Easter!) I instead purchased a bakery pound cake, split it in 4 layers, used raspberry, lime, and orange sherbet. Freeze the cake before frosting to let everything set! I plan to use a homemade whipped cream frosting, instead of the whipped topping, but this goes together quickly and I can see it will be a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gocoastl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I have made this several times for friends and family and they love it, however I make my own Frosting: 1 pint (2 cups) Whipping Cream, 1/2 cup Powdered Sugar, and 1 teaspoon Vanilla. Beat all ingredients with electric mixer on low speed until soft peaks form. Beat on high speed until stiff peaks form, scraping side of the bowl occasionally, Frost and Freeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenkins14carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rising Sun, Maryland, USA
Living In: North East, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I really liked this. I just used a store bought cake. I was trying to remember the recipe when I was at the store, but I only remembered 2 quarts of sherbet. Oh well,It was good this way. You can do alot of different things with it. Will ba making again. I used raspberry, and lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I make this with tea biscuits or graham crackers instead of angel food cake - it is such a hit - with both kids and adults! I used coconut sorbet for the bottom layer, 2x riches whip mixed with 1x instant vanilla pudding, and then lemon sorbet on top. I sprinkled the top with orange "colored sugar" from this web site. I usually use contrasting colors - but these were the flavors I had in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I'm giving this recipe three starts because it went together well and was a hit with my kids at my daughter's 8th birthday party but that's as far as it went. The adults in the crowd all made odd faces at the strange texture of a frozen angel food cake. It was chewy and mealy. As a whole, entirely unappetizing. Most adults ended up peeling away the cake and just eating the sherbet. Would have been better to just layer sherbet into a bowl and cut it into slices like a cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Very easy and tastes great. My family loved it. It has so many options. I took the following advice: soften sherbert in fridge 1-2 hrs, freeze cake before slicing and before frosting, thaw 15 min before serving. I also used homemade whipping cream. (Great recipe from this site.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
Although this cake was very pretty, I just didn't find it to be that appetizing. I love angel food cake, sherbet and cool whip, but somehow all together, it just really wasn't that good. It was easy to make and it was pretty, but I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Hooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States