Rainbow Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I mean yeah, it's just jello. But it's pretty and festive, and it does take a lot of work to wait in between each color, and it can be challenging in a small kitchen with little room in the refrigerator. So, no shame in this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Easy enough to make if you're willing to take the time. In the 13x9" pan it took about 2-2.5 hours to make. I picked flavors I liked and used food coloring to make some of the colors. Used some sugar-free and some regular jello to cut down on the sweetness others mentioned. Made some whipped cream for on top (1 cup whipping cream, 4 T powdered sugar, 2 tsp vanilla) and it was really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BainDrenal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I put this in a bunt cake pan and served it at Christmas and it was a hit. Who knew jello could be such a hit. It was very attractive and I had a lot of compliments on how nice it looked. I didn't use the exact same flavors, but it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
It was really easy to make, but its just jello. but I think it has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisabea

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gold Beach, Oregon, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brendenj
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Wonderful dish to bring to Christmas Dinner. My 5 year old loved helping me with the colors and mixing. A great way to spend a Saturday afternoon! We made two at a time and everyone liked the milky ones better! Next I will make in a jello mold as it was hard to get to the bottom of the trifle dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doolittlenomnoms
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I am not a jello fan but this recipe is pretty good. Will definitely make again. I was skeptical about evaporated milk mixed with the jello but it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doolittlenomnoms

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Very good and very time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Will use sugarless jello as it sets up faster. Start early in the day and let it sit up over night. Make sure each layer is set up completely. The cream added to the lime and lemon is really tasty. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
The salad is good, but DELICIOUS with some kind of whipped topping. Seriously, don't overlook it. Something magical happens when it's added, and I wouldn't serve this salad without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I prepared it yesterday for a party - and everyone loved it! it looked so nice and fun. I used reviews and did one at the time, let it sit for 40-60 min and added another layer. I used grape jello too - and didn't like it. There was 2-years old kid at the party- and she asked for second :) We had the "argument" if it is better to keep all layers without the milk. Still didn't decide...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States