Rainbow Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
HINTS: I found it easiest to mix 1 pkg of gelatin w/ water at a time; aside from preventing the mix from setting as other reviews mentioned, this way you only dirty 1 bowl. It takes about 40 MINUTES for each layer to completely set, so there's plenty of time for the next mix to cool down but no need to get all the flavors ready at once. Make sure a layer has completely set before adding another; even if it seems pretty solid the force of pouring another layer on top can disrupt the previous layer. So also, pour gently, just in case. I made a "frosting" consisting of 2 c whipping cream, 2 t lemon rind & 1/4 c pineapple juice... turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This was a fun recipe to make. Everyone raved about it. I would definately make it again. This would be a good one for a potluck dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amb1580
Reviewed: May 24, 2007
Tastes great, fruity with a hint of lemon in the middle. Used peach instead of orange-pineapple. Next time I'll use colors of the rainbow, red, orange, yellow, green, blue (berry blue), purple (grape), and use pink (strawberry kiwi) for the bottom layer. Doing it this way the green and purple would have milk in it and won't look so dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
My kids love this recipe. It is now a family fav. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
First, this salad is very pretty and tasted good. The only thing I changed was is I substituted peach because I couldn't find the orange pineapple. I took this salad/dessert to church with me for a dinner. I had about a half a dish leftover. It was very popular with the kids, but the adults went for something else. For the effort it takes, I am not sure I would make this again, except for a children's event. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I made this recipe a couple of times for holiday potlucks. My neices loved it. It is time consuming, but well worth the praise and smiles it makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
Very pretty, i used it as a jello mold, and topped it with whipped cream and jelly beans for easter. SUCCESS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
This is a great recipie. Everytime I make it everyone loves it. Has a great taste, the evaporated milk makes it really good for adults too. It does take a little time, but worth it. I also would suggest making 2 at a time to avoid setting up to soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
I make this in a glass 13x9 pan, very pretty dessert. I haven't tried to mix the jello separately but maybe next time I will as they do begin to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRABLUE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
I liked it. Very festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States