Rainbow Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Great idea with the creamy and clear layers! I made mine for a Halloween party with creamy lime, creamy orange, and vodka-spiked black cherry. So fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MidnightCookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haverford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I don't know what it tastes like but it is sooo pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by He's Not the Apple of My Pie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This is a very pretty and tasty jello salad! I couldn't find the orange-pineapple jello, so I used peach instead. I also divided the mixtures up into my large and small gelatin molds. It worked very well, and looked beautiful. I was a little skeptical about preparing all the bowls of gelatin and letting them sit on the counter as each layer chilled, but it actually worked very well. Only one bowl hardened slightly...I held it over a lighted burner on my stove until it became liquid again before pouring it into the mold. This is a very yummy recipe that I would make again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I give this 5 stars because my guests loved it and kept going back for more. Since I used sugar-free jello & fat-free evaporated milk, it also was very low in calories. Mine was difficult to slice, as the layers didn't hold together very well, but it was tasty and very nice looking. I also used raspberry instead of cherry and peach instead of the pineapple-orange flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I used the color of the rainbows and put in a bundt pan for a mold. It turned out beautiful, but the layers separated after awhile, and broke when plating. We all decided this was our family version of "broken glass" salad. :-) The taste was great. Even the non-jello eaters had seconds. I used all sugar-free jello, so maybe that cut down on the sweetness that others have mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
My friend made this once without the evaporated milk. It was WONDERFUL, especially since we used vodka instead of water!!!! TEEHEE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madenish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
It's a great idea and looks like you slaved all day over it, but holy smokes it's sweet. I did a rainbow (red, orange, yellow, green, blue, and purple) then topped it with whip cream. Other's liked it, but I think it's just so sweet. Maybe adding the full 2 cups of water to each packet might simmer it down a bit. Kids I'm sure would love this dessert 1-it's so colorful 2-it's got lots of sugar. Great idea though. I'll have to tweak it a bit to suit me better though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I did 12 layers in a trifle dish with this recipe and even though it took 2 days it looked fabulous and it was the yummiest jello! Everyone just had to try it. Well worth my time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honeoye, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I made this last night for my family. Turns out that there was a ton left over, so I ended up making some for our neighbors. It went over great! The neighbors loved it so much, they made some for themselves the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeaverCleaver

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This takes a long long long time to do all of the colors. You must have patience to do this. All in all my kids were not found of the creamy jello layers (ones with evaporated milk added). I don't think I will ever spend all day to make jello again. ugg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States