Rainbow Roasted Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Mine turned out like lemonade. .. Wish I would have dumped out the lemon juice out of the peppers after I cooked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This is a pretty soup, but it was too much effort for a taste that was not sensational. I used cumin instead of fennel and did not add thyme . . . perhaps that made all the difference? I think I prefer my peppers cut up ad fried with onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Leia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kapolei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I loooooove this soup, minus the thyme cause I've never like thyme. I'm still giving it 5 stars cause it's aaaamazing! :-) My husband doesn't like it though, more for me! Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Excellent recipe. We have so many peppers in our garden that this was so welcome! In order to make it thicker, I also roasted one baking potato and then, using a immersion blender pureed it in the broth before adding the peppers. Gave a great texture and smoothness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Excellent soup and really quite easy. I used red peppers instead of a mix (would have preferred the mix, but we had a bag of red, so used what I had) and anise rather than a trip to the store to replenish the fennel and even with all that it was amazing. Neither my husband nor I are big pepper fans and yet both of us finished our bowls. We did find that a dash of sour cream was the perfect garnish for us. So very, very good. Thanks for coming up with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This was tasty, although I did make some modifications. I doubled the recipe and also increased the garlic to 22 cloves. I used 5 cups of vegetable broth to 8 peppers. I only used 1 1/2 tsp. fennel seed but think I'll use the full 2 tsp. next time. I added more lemon juice and some sea salt after my first tasting. Goat cheese made an excellent garnish, although I think feta would be good, too. Next time I prepare this, I plan to roast some jalapeno with the bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by karlasullivan923@yahoo.com
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Made this exactly as written. Tried to take skin off peppers, but it was really hard so I left some on. This soup is AMAZING and so flavorful! I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Good soup and pretty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I followed the recipe as stated except I used anise instead of fennel. I had a bit of trouble getting the skins off the peppers because I've never done it before. It didn't say how long to simmer the broth and fennel so I did it for about 10 minutes after it started to boil. It was great just as is. I added lemon zest from half of the lemon before putting the left overs in the fridge. It was really good when reheated, with a zip from the lemon and kick from the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Yummy soup! I don't like green bell peppers so I added extra red. The fennel is a great touch! I also substituted fresh thyme for dry and added the zest of the lemon to the vegetable stock. This soup was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup

Creamy soup that will fill you and warm you up on a chilly day.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States