Rainbow Roasted Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Fantastic soup which received rave reviews from my dinner guests last night. I used 8 peppers, but cut down the broth from 6 cups to 5. The peppers were very easy to skin after leaving them to steam in a sealed plastic bag. I Served the soup with crumbled feta cheese on top. I'll definitely be making it again...very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Wow. This recipe sure is time consuming but well worth the wait. According to other reviewers, the soup was too liquid-y so I only used 2 cans of vegetable broth, used 8 red peppers, and 22 cloves of garlic. Peeling the skin off the peppers was took a long time. I pretty much pureed then as much as I could (I wanted it that way) and added lemon juice and olive oil. The color is great and it had a very strong flavour. I wish there was more!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
This soup was wonderful! I used homemade veggie broth from my juicer. The peppers were really easy to peel, I served it over rice, my husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
I really liked the flavor of this although, admittedly, I did use my own homemade broth (check out 'Basic Vegetable Stock' on this site). I didn't want to buy a whole bottle of fennel seeds just to use 1tsp in this recipe, so I used a star anise instead. What I didn't much like about the recipe was the very watery texture. If I was going to make this again I would double the amount of peppers, and probably cut back on the broth too. Anyway, with a nice thick slice of Viennese bread, this made a light but comforting lunch on a very wet and stormy day. Thanks, Leslie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Excellent Soup! I loved the flavor of the fennel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
Delish! I didn't completely peel the skin from the peppers (kind of a pain) and it didn't matter at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
This recipe is excellent! The broth almost tastes like spaghetti sauce, it's very low calorie, and looks pretty too! Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
Great taste! Left out the fennel seeds though cause I'm not a big fan of the licorice taste. I used lemon pepper which gave it a spicy pep. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
A true celebration of the bell pepper in all its glorious colors. We've enjoyed it both served hot and cold. The lemon juice serves to keep the pepper flavor bright, and of course roasted garlic is a perfect complement to peppers. Be careful out there with the fennel if you are not fond of anise/licorice (we love it, but it should be a supporting note, not the melody!). Leslie, you suggest that we use home made vegetable stock rather than canned if possible; I concur - it would have been great to have had YOUR vegetable stock recipe to work with (I'll look for it under broths/stocks in All Recipes). I took the liberty of using fresh minced lemon and french thyme from my garden in place of the dry thyme the recipe calls for, used sea salt to puree some fresh garlic to use (in place of the garlic salt, which I find can be a bit acrid), and added the luxury of a few drops of a very good extra virgin olive oil to garnish along with the reserved julienned pepper. Thanks for a visually appealing as well as tasty addition to my soup recipe collection! Cristen G.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States