Rainbow Pasta Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Once again, a great "basic" recipe with plenty of opportunity for variation. My tips for a gorgeous and delicious salad: 1) don't overcook the pasta. your salad will turn to into a broken mushy mess. 2) you MUST refrigerate this for at least 4 hours. even if you start with cold ingredients, the flavors must have time to come together. 3) cheap salad dressing will ruin this dish. go for the good stuff, whatever you use. 4) the salad is not meant to be "wet & drippy". go easy on the dressing. add salad seasoning or spices from your own rack if it needs a kick. 5) grape tomatoes cut in half and english cucumber keep the salad from getting soggy. 6) whatever spice you use, stay away from salt. it will make the tomatoes and cucumbers run. 7) don't be tempted to add too much liquid. your veggies will create more juice and the longer the salad sits, it will get wetter and your noodles will continue to swell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
I loved this recipe!! I added a small can of black olives and a chopped green pepper. I also put in creamy italian dressing,this being so rich I only needed about 1/3 of the bottle. Will be making this often as it is a great summer side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
I wanted a basic pasta salad recipe to keep on hand just in case... this was the one! Very easy and straightforward. Love the red onions. I used fat free Italian dressing and found the taste was still great. An added bonus is that I usually have the ingedients on hand. Low-fat and easy, definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Good base recipe - but I always add more veggies: shredded carrot, thawed frozen baby peas, chopped zucchini & chopped broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Alot like a recipe I have used for years. I like to use Robusto! Zesty Italian or if some are being weight-conscientious, Zesty FREE Italian is awesome also! Canned, diced tomatoes work good in a pinch, but will make salad soggy by next day (usually gone the 1st day anyway:) Love to add black olives(sliced or chopped) and shredded cheddar (Kraft FREE again if u want) to the cukes. I omit onion. Color is nice with this combo. of veggies and rainbow rotini noodles. Be sure to shake really good in the bowl with a lid before serving and may need to add more dressing. SOOO good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cameron, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
This recipe is the best! I do a couple things differently. I don't like onions so I leave the onions out, I use a zesty Italian dressing, and for an added kick I add Johnny's Salad Elegance Seasoning. I have yet to have anyone complain!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Great party dish! Easy to prepare and makes A LOT! I added pepperoni just because we all are big meat eaters. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I used plain fusilli pasta in this recipe, as that was all I had. I used Newman's italian and added just a little pepper and basil. This would be even better with a little parmesan on top when served. Very good. I liked how simple this was and how I could make this at the last minute. TIP: I rinse pasta that I use in cold salads with cold water, then drain. It makes the transition from kitchen to table quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
Although the chopping of the vegetables can be a tad time consuming, I was able to finish at the same time the noodles were done cooking. I find that most pasta salads are not kid friendly and neither was this one. The adults LOVED it though and it went over well at our party. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2001
My family absolutely loved this recipe. My husband is begging for me to make again soon! The recipe is very simple and fast to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States