Rainbow Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I made these for my sisters class tomorrow and they turned out great.I haven't actually tried them yet, but they cooked, look, and smell amazing! I didn't color them, i was only looking for a vanilla cupcake recipe. People were saying that they were dry, so I only did 2 1/4 cup flour. I also added 2 tsp. vanilla and did half whole wheat flour. I also cooked at 325 degrees and baked them for about 22 minutes. Definitely a keeper. Thanks :) (Though i did only get 21 cupcakes from them, but that's okay because she only needed 19.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candace plummer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristilove83
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
These are great! My kids (four and two) and I have a 'kid kitchen' session at least once a week and made these together. They had a blast mixing up the different colors and then layering them into the muffin tin. I was amazed at how vibrant the colors were after cooking and how pretty they were when you cut into them. We frosted them with rainbow hip icing which tasted great with the cupcakes. We will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I made these cupcakes for a family cook-out. After reading all the reviews and seeing the complaints about them being dry, I simply used a white box cake mix and tinted them per this recipe. No problem with dryness and everyone (especially the kids) loved the different colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
These were not bad for a basic recipe. Next time I would replace the milk with sour cream or yogurt, the oil with applesauce, and reduce the baking powder by 1/2 tsp. to improve the texture. Some cinnamon or cardamom wouldn't hurt either. I don't care for the taste of the food coloring; maybe gel colors would be better. Note: The three reviews below referring to cornbread are really good examples of why we now need a "report abuse" option on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
For bakers who end up with dry baked goods as some state has happened with these cupcakes, the issue most likely is how you measure your flour. Digging the flour out with you cup, may add as much as a quarter cup more flour to the mix. If you stir the flour, then spoon lightly into your measuring cup, filling above the top and scraping off the extra, then the dry crumblies may be gone forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Try pudding in the batter, makes your cake nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is not a recipe for cupcakes. This is a recipe for corn muffins. Do not be fooled. "Cookiemonster" will delete this comment because she is unwilling to accept that her recipe is not up to par with what is promised in the title. DO NOT BE FOOLED. LOOK ELSEWHERE IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A GOOD RECIPE CREATED BY SOMEBODY WHO CAN TAKE THE CRITICISM BECAUSE COOKIEMONSTER OBVIOUSLY CANNOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
BEWARE THIS IS ACTUALLY A RECIPE FOR RAINBOW CORNBREAD. A LITTLE NOTE TO COOKIEMONSTER: HERAAAAAAAGH!!! I DON'T APPRECIATE YOU DELETING MY TRUE REVIEW PEOPLE NEED TO REALIZE THAT THEY ARE ACTUALLY MAKING SOME FUN LOOKING CORNBREAD OK NOT "CUPCAKES" IF THIS GETS DELETED I WILL CRY. ALOT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This recipe is ok. But me and my niece were looking forward to making amazing cupcakes for her sleepover. So we tried this awesome rainbow cupcakes, Unfortunately they were not as awesome as we thought. They were very dry and crumbly. I think they look better on the computer than actually making them. My niece was very upset. So we just bought the package of cupcake mix and died it different colors. At least, it tasted better than this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
i made this for the first time today. very easy to make but i just ate one and it has a funky after taste.... what could it be?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rainbow Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are easy and will brighten up any occasion.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States