Rainbow Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
These turned out so delicious! But instead of food coloring, I used icing coloring, which should turn out the same! I made them for Christmas and my family loved them!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnaTirado1999

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Instead of using vegtable oil use applesauce. It makes it a lot moister. No dry and crumbly cupcakes for any one else!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBeatuy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
my daughter and I had fun making this. hubby likes it. the rainbow colors are very pretty when you cut the cupcake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
These look awesome! I'm making American flag ones and some Christmas ones!:D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I had to modify this recipe A LOT. 1/2 a cup is not nearly enough of milk. I also used turbinado sugar rather than white sugar, just because.You have to play around with it a little, but it's still yummy and lots of fun to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savi96

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I made these for my sisters class tomorrow and they turned out great.I haven't actually tried them yet, but they cooked, look, and smell amazing! I didn't color them, i was only looking for a vanilla cupcake recipe. People were saying that they were dry, so I only did 2 1/4 cup flour. I also added 2 tsp. vanilla and did half whole wheat flour. I also cooked at 325 degrees and baked them for about 22 minutes. Definitely a keeper. Thanks :) (Though i did only get 21 cupcakes from them, but that's okay because she only needed 19.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristilove83
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
These are great! My kids (four and two) and I have a 'kid kitchen' session at least once a week and made these together. They had a blast mixing up the different colors and then layering them into the muffin tin. I was amazed at how vibrant the colors were after cooking and how pretty they were when you cut into them. We frosted them with rainbow hip icing which tasted great with the cupcakes. We will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I made these cupcakes for a family cook-out. After reading all the reviews and seeing the complaints about them being dry, I simply used a white box cake mix and tinted them per this recipe. No problem with dryness and everyone (especially the kids) loved the different colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
These were not bad for a basic recipe. Next time I would replace the milk with sour cream or yogurt, the oil with applesauce, and reduce the baking powder by 1/2 tsp. to improve the texture. Some cinnamon or cardamom wouldn't hurt either. I don't care for the taste of the food coloring; maybe gel colors would be better. Note: The three reviews below referring to cornbread are really good examples of why we now need a "report abuse" option on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
For bakers who end up with dry baked goods as some state has happened with these cupcakes, the issue most likely is how you measure your flour. Digging the flour out with you cup, may add as much as a quarter cup more flour to the mix. If you stir the flour, then spoon lightly into your measuring cup, filling above the top and scraping off the extra, then the dry crumblies may be gone forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rainbow Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are easy and will brighten up any occasion.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States