Rainbow Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Really excellent with the following changes.... Definitely use almond filling (whole 12 oz can) INSTEAD of almond paste. Also, add 2 tsp. almond extract. Tip - These cookies can be made (cut into logs with chocolate) and then frozen. WRAP well in Saran wrap and then freeze....simply defrost and cut when cookies are needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
These are delicious, make sure to follower other reviewers suggestions and add butter/cream to your chocolate so it doesnt crack when you cut it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I thought these were really good and something different than I had ever made before. I didn't separate the eggs to save time, I did add butter (2tbls) and heavy cream (1/4th cup) to ensure the chocolate wouldn't crack when I cut them. If you do that you can wait, as the recipe calls for with no cracking at all. I also used almond filling as someone suggested and added a bit of almond extract. I would def make these again for family and friends. I didn't find them that time consuming or frustrating to make with the adjustments. The hardest part was smoothing out the dough on the parchment paper in preparation for the doughs to be baked. My husband had a great tip though we turned our 9x13 pans upside down and laid the paper on top of the bottom of the pan. That way we knew we were lining up the dough properly to fit the pans. Good luck! :) They turned out really pretty too. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4pinksand1blue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Wow. Just wow. It might be difficult to spread the dough out into the pans all the way, but it will spread as it bakes, and you can trip it up if you need to. I made these a year and a half ago, and my brother keeps asking me to make them again. They are a lot of work, but certainly worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oviedo, Florida, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I halved this recipe, which was a bad idea. I found it impossible to spread my dough into the pan. So I just mashed all the dough back together, baked it for 45 minutes, and ended up with a rather colorful but very tasty almond cake. I'm sure if I'd done the whole recipe my rainbow cookies would have turned out properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
i made these for my family because we used to get them all the time when we lived in new york and hasn't had them since. they do take a little more time to make but are definitely worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
These are the best, just like I remember from growing up in NY. I totally agree with the other reviewers - you must add almond extract - each time I make these I add a little more. I think 1 tbsp. is good. I add 1 tbsp. of shortening to my chocolate chips when melting - there is no cracking. I also do not refrigerate them at all - there is no need. I also leave them uncut until ready to be eaten, unless you are bringing them to someone/something in which case you'd want them cut up into squares. Can someone let me know why they think the almond filling is better and if it is readily available in the supermarket because I don't think I have seen it before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna Mae
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I've been making these cookies for years, but with the changes I made based on the reviews of others, these were the BEST I have ever made! I used almond filling instead of almond paste (the whole 12 oz can), added almond extract, used only raspberry jam (no apricot), and added 2 tablespoons of butter and 1/4 cup heavy cream to the melted chips for the frosting. The frosting didn't crack like it usually does when I try to cut into pieces. These cookies were moist and extremely tasty. Absolutely wonderful. Thanks so much for all the great tips!!!....an update: I made these this year for Halloween. They were a big hit! I just used orange paste food coloring instead of the red. Now wasn't that a great idea?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Highland, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Since finding this recipe I have made these year after year at Christmas & they are the BEST!!! Taste just like the ones from 'home' (NY)!! My kids wait impatiently for them as do the guys in my office...a most DELICIOUS recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
These are one of my favorite cookies EVER! While they are time consuming, the end result is way worth it. I also add some heavy cream and butter to the chocolate to make sort of a ganache, so it sets up nicely, but when I cut into them the chocolate doesn't crack. These are absolutely divine! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States