Rainbow Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by lauracookielady
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Fantastic recipe!! I do add a teaspoon of almond extract, but other than that, A++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Great Recipe--family thought I purchased these cookies from a bakery the 1st time I made them--I use almond cake & pastry filling, 20 drops of red & 12 drops of green, have made with only the raspberry & the combo of raspberry & apricot--have to pick out the larger pieces of apricot though before spreading & I use chocolate melting wafers instead of chips--it hardens quickly--found it cuts best with the chocolate side down on the cutting board--I purchased three 9 X 13 foil pans that I keep just for these cookies (which are actually like a little cake type petit four) If you don't have parchment handy, lightly greased wax paper also works well--these cookies are a must with my family during the Christmas holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I should have looked at some of the reviews before making this if you use the almond paste it is a little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
These are my boyfriends favorite cookies, so I decided to try to make them for him. This recipe was perfect...he absolutely loved them and has asked me to make them for Thanksgiving!! The only thing I did different was I used Bakers semi-sweet chocolate...not chocolate chips and they cut like a dream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
After reading the reviews I used almond filling instead of paste and added 1 tsp of almond extract. Mixed chocolate with cream and butter. We love them and they look fantastic! Thanks for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
These are 5 stars IF you use almond filling instead of almond paste. I also use a little more jam. Everyone loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JFAHRION

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Very cute and yummy. I found them easy to make, just a little time consuming. I replaced the almond paste with almond filling (Solo brand). It comes in a 12oz can, but I only used 8oz. I only used raspberry preserves and added 2 T butter and 1/4 heavy cream to the chocolate. I cut logs out (6 of them) before pouring the chocolate on top. That way I ended up with chocolate on three sides. I eyeballed the food coloring until the colors looked bright and vibrant. To compress the layers while they rested in the refrigerator, I put a pan (one of the 9x13 I used) on top and inside I placed a 5 pound bag of rice to apply pressure for 8 hours. UPDATE: I made these again and used raspberry jam instead of preserves and they tasted even better. I also went ahead and added 1 tsp almond extract and it was great. I added the entire can of almond filling this time (12oz Solo brand) and will not do so in the future. It came out too soft/gooey even though the volume it added helped manage the batter better. I'll stick to 8oz of filling, raspberry JAM and definitely add cream and butter to the chocolate. I experimented doing it both ways (with and without) and without cream and butter, the chocolate does crack when u cut them up. They are absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Photo by doggiechef.net
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
So authentic! Tough to spread the batter in the pans but it's well worth the effort. The second time I made these cookies I doubled the batter, thinking I'd get nicer layers that wouldn't be so tough to spread. The layers came out way too thick! Don't double the batter! Also, I strongly suggest adding some butter and heavy cream to the chocolate, as mentioned in other reviews, to make the coating the right conisitency. I substituted the apricot jam for more raspberry jam, as the best versions of these cookies I've eaten contained only raspberry jam. Wonderful and beautiful to look at!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DaSuga
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I have been looking for a good recipe for these for a while now and I have to say that this recipe was pretty good and I did use the adjustments to the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaSuga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
People went nuts over this awesome tasting cookie? candy? its good no matter what,, making more tomorrow !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HERRAA
Home Town: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berea, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States