Rainbow Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
this is similar to my family's secret recipe. it's delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
The first time I made this recipe, it was a little too dry. I now use a full tube of gel food coloring to give it a vibrant color and add a little more moisture. I also add 2 tbsps of almost extract to enhance the almond flavor. The chocolate alone also gets a little too thick to spread evenly alone, I add 4-6 ounces (roughly half a large can) of evaporated milk to make the chocolate spreadable. I don't think apricot jam adds much to the recipe so use only raspberry jam. When I made it with these revisions, I ended up winning a bake-off at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
These are the BEST!! Substituting with almond filling does make them moister. Adding almond extract makes them more tasty. For those who dont see a difference in seperating the eggs and beating the whites, there is a difference. Whipping up those whites makes it more "fluffy", and easier to spread in the pan. For those who are using regular cake mix (?) or omitting the almond filling/paste - and using different flavors on each layer (??) Your "cookie" may be tasty - but it is in NO WAY a rainbow cookie!! You do NOT KNOW what you are missing until you try this made the RIGHT way. As far as using raspberry only or raspberry and apricot, thats your own taste preference really. Thank you so much for this recipe, I have made it dozens of times. I also made the mistake of giving some to neighbors who fell in LOVE woth them, so I have to make them quite frequently to please all family and friends!! These are not just a "Christmas" cookie, can be made for any occassion or no occassion at all! I do recommend using only the amount of jam in the recipe, it is not as good with too much jam. The amount in the recipe is PERFECT! I made that mistake the first time I made these. Really, thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Delicious. A perfect cookie. My daughter & I missed these at our grocer this Christmas so we set out to find a good recipe to make together. We grated the almond paste which I think helped blend easier. After a taste test we decided to add 4 tsp. Almond extract to the dough to enhance & give a richer flavor so the jams & chocolate wouldn't overpower. We will make some adjustments next time to the pan/ spreading technique. We added 2 TBS butter & 1/4 C. Heavy cream to chips when melting. We will make extra chocolate next time in order to cover 3-4 sides of each. Really wonderful recipe. Thanks so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I am not a baker and I made these for Christmas. Recipe was esay to follow and outrageous. Mine looked a lttle messy but no one cared
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
difficult to master, but worth the effort. Better than the bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariann01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
My whole family loved this recipe! I used almond filling instead of paste, and added butter and cream to the melted chocolate. I only left the weight on the cakes for an hour and they still came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I grew up in NY and have been looking for these cookies since I left. I am so thrilled to finally find a recipe and this one is WONDERFUL! It is exactly as I remember. I know many reviews call for leaving out the apricot jam, adding extra chocolate, and adding almond extract - DON'T! The raspberry and apricot are the perfect combination and the chocolate is perfect just on top (don't melt the whole bag - only one cup like the recipe calls for.) These cookies are suppose to be delicately almond not overpowering. Parchment paper is your friend in the recipe! Getting an even layer is more like frosting a cake rather than pouring batter. 10 minutes is probably plenty long to bake and the layers do not usually brown - they would be too done. Fridge AT LEAST overnight with weights. I spread the melted chocolate on top just after pulling the cookies out of the fridge. Buy the time I had finished frosting, the chocolate was beginning to set up on the cold layers. I cut immediately with a VERY sharp knife and they cut beautifully with minimal to no cracking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Fantastic flavor and well worth the effort. I happened to have gel food coloring and the colors for each layer came out very deep. Although they're a good amount of work, they're not nearly as hard to make as I expected and they look and taste just like cookies you might get in a good bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Excellent recipe that I have used successfully for several years after first finding it here on this site. In fact, it was my search for such a recipe that led me to make AR the first place. I have had to customize it for the size of my baking pans over the years because I can never make enough of them. I have used milk chocolate chips and had better success without having the chocolate crack on me while cutting. No need to pre-cut as one reviewer had suggested unless you wish to turn these into some type of petit fours. Using and good sharp chefs knife will give you a better cut when slicing. I stick with the traditional apricot and raspberry jams (my preference). I certainly recommend this recipe to anyone. My family and friends can't get enough of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yankee Redneck

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

No Bake Cookies V

Chocolate oatmeal cookies that don't require oven time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States