Rainbow Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I made these but have another recipe I like a lot better even though it is similar. I made these first before I found the other one and, frankly, as a notvery experienced baker,I found this difficult to follow and the results were not what I expected. The jam was too thin, the flavor a little bland, and they didn't look too good either. Then I found a recipe with pictures to follow and uses preserves which worked better for me and adds more butter and almond extract which did make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I created my own issues while making these and even though they suffered as a result, I still found them to be delicious and authentic and I will definitely try to make them again the right way! These cookies are expensive in the Italian bakeries nearby and everyone in my house enjoys them (including my toddler) so to be able to make a big batch of them and have it taste the same is great! My problems arose out of doubling the recipe to fit into my sheet pans and then not portioning out evenly (I wound up with a very thin layer of red). I also didn't do the egg white separately because my hand mixer broke and I didn't feel like transferring all the dough in and out of my stand mixer having to keep washing the bowl to get it all completed plus some reviewers didn't bother with that step and it still worked well. Next time I will try it as written but I will make 2.5 times the recipe to fit my pans to make it easier to portion out and fit my pans. Still, with those issues I really liked the cookie and didn't find it to be too difficult or time consuming to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Farmingdale, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Mine turned out so nice would make this recipe again. Took some time to do the differnent colors but was inpressive for a cookie tray. Very good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lilbambella
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Very authentic flavor :) I miss Italian cookies from the bakeries in NY. Brought a taste of home to my new home in MN. Go easy on the raspberry jam and be sure to spread your batter all the way to the ends of your pan, it won't spread on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I have made this several times. It is great as written. The only thing I do is add a little cream or butter to the meldted chocolate after I cut them into strips/logs. I put the chocolate on three sides and roll them in chocolate sprinkles. Then I slice them into pieces. Everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammi
Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
these were perfect! I didn't have parchment paper so I just sprayed the pyrex with cooking spray and they came out with no problem. My daughter's favorite cookie & she loved them!!! Saves a lot of money compared to buying them and they freeze well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centereach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Having tasted these from bakeries in NY, my daughter wanted them for her birthday. I baked each layer in an 8 inch round cake pan, lined with parchment and buttered. Cakes only took a few extra minutes to cook, and proceeded with the assembly in the instructions. 3 8 inch round layers came out to be slightly taller than one regular single cake layer, and I covered it with a chocolate ganache. The cake looked liked it came from a bakery, and tasted outrageously good. I'm sure this will be requested often. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I don't actually eat these cookies but I make them for my sister and she loves them! With the almond paste I would definitaly recoomend using canned instead of the hard tube. I also add a dash of almond paste. Where I have problems is the baking prep. Greasing the parchmant paper always gets really messy and hard to manage but I've been working on it. Haven't found anything really useful yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Interesting. I have to admit, I tried this recipe purely out of curiosity because I have never heard of rainbow cookies before. I wasn't too wild about the flavors combination. These definitely need at least a day after assembling for the flavors to develop. In response to other reviews, yes these are a bit time consuming but no more than decorating sugar cookies or filling and frosting a cake. Isn't that what baking is all about...Patience, creativity and adding love? With that said, the most difficult part I found was spreading the batter in the pans. But I just treated it like I was frosting a cake and just spread it slowly with a rubber spatula. I didn't even really need to smooth it with a frosting spatula, it smoothed out just fine in the oven. I used almond filling because I couldn't find almond paste. I shouldn't have used such a heavy item to compress the cookies because they ended up too flat and dense, my own fault. I found the chocolate to be too overpowering in flavor and took away from the other flavors of the cookie. If I ever make these again (probably not) I would use less chocolate. Oh and I did add 1/4 c heavy cream and 1.5 tbsp butter to chocolate to prevent cracking and it worked. After coating in chocolate, I refrigerated for 40 min and cut. No cracks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This recipe is perfect! I have to admit - I had very low expectations because I'd never made these cookies before. I will never buy them at the bakery again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States