Rainbow Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This was a very very easy recipe to try - my 6 year old niece and I tried it and it was super easy! I was only worried when my dough did not seem enough for 48 cookies (because I halved the recipe) but then realised I cut out non-thin pieces and my dough needed to baked in thinner. Anyways - it was yummy with the combination of apricot jam, raspberry jam and chocolate on top! I didn't have almond paste so I compromised by making a paste myself with the almond powder I had. SAUTEFLAMBE - thanks for your tip on adding the chocolate earlier and cutting it with a hot knife - great tip :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I chose to use Solo instead of Paste, basically because I had it and that is what my grandma used. These came out perfect! Much better than anticipated. The only drawback was that I wanted to eat them all and I won't stay 125# if I start eating these everyday, so I feed them to my boys, who also love them, and don't need to watch their figures yet! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
EXCELLENT, I also took advice from a few reviews - didn't seperate eggs, a couple tablespoons butter mixed in melted chococlate & used disp. cake pans. I also used this site for recipe to make my own almond paste - also Excellent. Will make again ASAP. They went quickly at my nieces Graduation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alphathegreat
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Great recipe! I did like others said. I used almond filling instead of paste and was very easy to spread. I used a 12.5 ounce jar. I didn't separate the eggs and I used red white and blue coloring for July 4th! I also omitted the apricot jam and only used the red raspberry and added heavy cream and butter to the chocolate. I cut the cookies first, then dipped them one at a time in the chocolate to cover the top. CAME OUT GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
These were pretty and tasty, but TIME CONSUMING! It took forever for me to make the dough, then color it, then work it into the pans. Whew! But they turned out nicely and looked great. The taste is a bit bland. I would add almond extract and maybe some vanilla next time. I added 2 tablespoons of butter to the chocolate and microwaved at 50% power till melted, it spread nicely and did not crack. Cut with a big knife and keep dipping it in hot water to make slicing easy. Also, I did not have parchment paper, so I sprayed my nonstick pans with some cooking spray and the dough came out with no problem. I don't think the parchment paper is necessary, it would probably make spreading the dough even more difficult.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Amazing. So delicious whether you make with marzipan and almond paste. Ive made it both ways a few times and every time they are delicious. I do agree that melting the chocolate with a little cream makes it that much more delicious but the recipe is great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterbean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
These cookies are wonderful! I have to say, we tried them right after I made them and we were not impressed. I put them in the refrigerator overnight, they were amazing the next day. My husband is from Europe, I served them a couple of days later when his parents came to visit and got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Love this recipe! Friends/Family can't believe it's homemade. One tip..I melt the butter in microwave and break up almond paste in warm/hot butter. Makes it much easier to work with and blends to a smoother cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I made these cookies for Christmas. It was my first try and they where FANTASTIC. Everyone was so surprised I baked them and they tasted like they came from the bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Great recipe will be making these often! Running the knife under hot water as others suggested works great chocolate did not crack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States