Rainbow Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Never had these before. My boyfriend was in town from NY and I made them for him. Said amazing recipe and enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Husband picked up almond pie filling instead of almond paste by mistake. Used appx 3/4 of the can...came out great! Cake was nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Loved this recipe! Do not follow others advice and use almond filling instead of the almond paste....it adds way too much additional sugar. Look at the ingredients and you can see that almond filling is just paste with butter and lots of powdered sugar added. But, do break up your filling with a fork and then cream together very well. I used a paddle in my kitchen aid mixer to cream together the sugar and paste first, before adding eggs and butter. What advice did I follow? The addition of 1 tsp almond extract was amazing! And also melting the chocolate with a little butter and cream was also fantastic advice. I had no trouble spreading the batter, or reemoving the cake from the pan (although I did spray the pan and the paper with cooking spray) and 6 drops of coloring was perfect. A lot of work but so worth it...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This is one of my favorite recipes. As many reviewers said, these cookies tasted exactly like the ones from NY bakeries. I took the advice of other reviewers and used almond filling and added some almond extract to the dough. I also added heavy cream and butter to the melted chocolate chips and put chocolate sprinkles all over. I used just seedless raspberry jam. I'm sure the apricot would be good as.well, but it really didn't need it. A wonderful recipe. Penney, thanks so much for sharing !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by di0823

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
These took a long time to make, but boy was it worth it! These are as good if not better than the local brooklyn bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I just made these and they came out great. I opted to only use raspberry jelly (only because I do not like apricot) and they came out great. I did take the suggestion to add 1/4 cup of heavy cream and 2 TBSP of butter to make the chocolate easier to cut through once cooled. Thanks for the easy to follow recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
A lot of work but so worth it. Use almond filling instead of paste and only raspberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Took earlier feedback and used about 3/4 of a can of almond filling vs. paste and added about 1/2 Tsp Of almond flavoring. The dough was extremely easy to work with and the overall taste was actually delicious. Where i screwed up was using baking pans that were too big, so the cookies came out super thin, but that was my fault! Would make again for sure. Oh and I used about a tablespoon of shortening to the chocolate chips and microwaved. Had no issues with reading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I found this recipe a few years ago, it was the first time I was making rainbow cookies. I now make these cookies every year for Christmas,( at my daughters request) everyone LOVES them!!! I took the advice of other reviewers and added butter and heavy cream to the chips. It def makes it easier to spread and cut the cookie. One tip, I sprayed the spoon I was using to spread the dough with a little cooking spray, It made it much easier to spread the dough in the pan! Thank you for the great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States