Rainbow Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Since finding this recipe I have made these year after year at Christmas & they are the BEST!!! Taste just like the ones from 'home' (NY)!! My kids wait impatiently for them as do the guys in my office...a most DELICIOUS recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
These are one of my favorite cookies EVER! While they are time consuming, the end result is way worth it. I also add some heavy cream and butter to the chocolate to make sort of a ganache, so it sets up nicely, but when I cut into them the chocolate doesn't crack. These are absolutely divine! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I worked at an Italian bakery in HS, and have been looking for a recipe for these cookies- this is it! They are well worth the effort, and we can't have Christmas without them. I do make a simple syrup flavored with almond extract, spray each layer and wait 5 mins or so before spreading the jelly, and they are so moist. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Disbrow Reed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
these are amazing! ive made them with both almond paste and almond pie filling and the ones with the pie filing are SO much better and moister! also, adding about a quarter cup of heavy cream and 2 tbsp. of unsalted butter helps the chocolate to be a little softer and not crack when you cut them. a lot of work, but worth it in the end! p.s. it makes it a LOT easier if you double the recipe.. the layers become much easier to spread, a little bit thicker, and a lot more easy to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This recipe is awesome! I have been using it for the past 5 years and everyone always raves over these cookies! I usually follow exactly, but every once in a while if I want an extra almond flavor I add some almond extract. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
It's great! Just like I remember in New York! Butthese arent $17/pound! A little labor intensive, but most Italian cookies are- but the pay off is WORTH IT! I had a problem with my chocolate "breaking" last time I made these- so I will try the suggestion of adding cream to the choco- THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
excellent amke sheets approc 1/3 inch thick. just fab recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
These cookies are great but are very hard for a new baker to make. The whole idea of lining the pans with paper sounds great but the batter must be spread thin and it's nearly impossible to do. I would stick with almond paste because the moistness level it offers matches what the cookies are meant to be at. Without a doubt you need to add almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Rainbow cookies have been my favorite since I was a little girl. Never in a million years did I think I would be able to make them as good as I find in the bakery but this receipe is it. I cant make enough to keep them in the house with the kids and my family requests them everytime there is a family party or get together. They have actually passed up bakery bought that others have brought to eat these! I did take the advice of others on here and add the almond extract and to use butter and heavy cream with the semisweet chips it does make a big difference. I let my kids pick crazy colors for the food coloring so they can have fun with them too though. One other thing I do is make two trays. One for the kids and one for the adults. I coat the adults cookies with Grand Marnier before adding the chocolate and they taste great! I also go to the dollar store and buy little gift boxes and line them with wax paper, fill them with these cookies to give to the kids teachers as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Very Similar to the store bought Rainbow Cookies in NY! Although I still think the ones in NY are better! I used a whole Jar of Raspberry Preserves, It looks like a lot but the cakes soak it in and it thins out. You MUST let these sit in the fridge for a couple of days in an airtight container, as with most italian food these get better in time as all the flavors mingle. Also, I did 1/2 of the chocolate and it was still a little to thick. Will make again but will use less chocoalte topping. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States