Rainbow Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I worked at an Italian bakery in HS, and have been looking for a recipe for these cookies- this is it! They are well worth the effort, and we can't have Christmas without them. I do make a simple syrup flavored with almond extract, spray each layer and wait 5 mins or so before spreading the jelly, and they are so moist. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Digital Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
these are amazing! ive made them with both almond paste and almond pie filling and the ones with the pie filing are SO much better and moister! also, adding about a quarter cup of heavy cream and 2 tbsp. of unsalted butter helps the chocolate to be a little softer and not crack when you cut them. a lot of work, but worth it in the end! p.s. it makes it a LOT easier if you double the recipe.. the layers become much easier to spread, a little bit thicker, and a lot more easy to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This recipe is awesome! I have been using it for the past 5 years and everyone always raves over these cookies! I usually follow exactly, but every once in a while if I want an extra almond flavor I add some almond extract. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
It's great! Just like I remember in New York! Butthese arent $17/pound! A little labor intensive, but most Italian cookies are- but the pay off is WORTH IT! I had a problem with my chocolate "breaking" last time I made these- so I will try the suggestion of adding cream to the choco- THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
excellent amke sheets approc 1/3 inch thick. just fab recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
These cookies are great but are very hard for a new baker to make. The whole idea of lining the pans with paper sounds great but the batter must be spread thin and it's nearly impossible to do. I would stick with almond paste because the moistness level it offers matches what the cookies are meant to be at. Without a doubt you need to add almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Rainbow cookies have been my favorite since I was a little girl. Never in a million years did I think I would be able to make them as good as I find in the bakery but this receipe is it. I cant make enough to keep them in the house with the kids and my family requests them everytime there is a family party or get together. They have actually passed up bakery bought that others have brought to eat these! I did take the advice of others on here and add the almond extract and to use butter and heavy cream with the semisweet chips it does make a big difference. I let my kids pick crazy colors for the food coloring so they can have fun with them too though. One other thing I do is make two trays. One for the kids and one for the adults. I coat the adults cookies with Grand Marnier before adding the chocolate and they taste great! I also go to the dollar store and buy little gift boxes and line them with wax paper, fill them with these cookies to give to the kids teachers as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Very Similar to the store bought Rainbow Cookies in NY! Although I still think the ones in NY are better! I used a whole Jar of Raspberry Preserves, It looks like a lot but the cakes soak it in and it thins out. You MUST let these sit in the fridge for a couple of days in an airtight container, as with most italian food these get better in time as all the flavors mingle. Also, I did 1/2 of the chocolate and it was still a little to thick. Will make again but will use less chocoalte topping. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I love this cookie !!!I add 1 tsp of almond extract ,I double the recipie because is too thin for a 13x9 pan!!! I dont want my cookie fall apart !!I put just rasberry jam for filling.I melt the chocolate and cut when is almost firm so they dont break ,Thank you for the recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michele

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
These turned out great. I didn't have any almond paste, and the grocery store does not offer any, so I made the recipe exactly as is without it...and they came out fantastic. I also did not cut the melted chocolate chips with anything. The trick to cutting without breaking is to cool it enough to keep its form, but not enough to break. You can finish cooling them after you cut them. I tried to add butter and cream to make it smooth, and it came out clumpy...so I used THAT chocolate to make fudge and finished off the cookies with straight melted chocolate chips. I'm the one that takes cookies and such to work and everyone absolutely loves them. My family and friends all gave this one a 5 star thumbs up. Just to clear a few things up...you don't HAVE to use the jam on the recipe. I used strawberry jam on both layers and it was great. Next time, I may use lemon pie filling. Another would be to add different extracts to each layer (strawberry, vanilla and chocolate for a neopolitan cookie)...with the chocolate layer colored brown of course. You can use icing (powder sugar w/water) to bind the layers. The possibilities are pretty wide.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vermontville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States