Rainbow Clown Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Made into cupcakes. I also did not swirl the colors at all. I wanted a very straight, uniform "rainbow" type effect. This was VERY NEAT looking. I also used the regualr liquid food coloring, not the gel type. If you only have the liquid type coloring, here is the ratio of drops to make each color. PURPLE is 9 R and 6 B. BLUE is 12 drops. GREEN is 12 drops. YELLOW is 12 drops. ORANGE is 12 Y and 4 R. RED is 18 drops. The red will look a bit pink but will turn out bright red when baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
401 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I'm the recipe submitter (and I, obviously, love this cake!). If you have a favorite from scratch cake recipe, that works well, too! I no longer use the toothpick test; I prefer to gently press the top of the cupcake...if it *bounces* back-it's done (helps to prevent overbaking). These rock as cupcakes, too! These (in cake or cupcake form) are so simple to make, yet I've never taken them anywhere where they weren't "ooed" and "awed" over. Your friends and family will think you are a baking rock star when you show up w/these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Made this back when she shared it on the Recipe Exchange. My kids flipped for it and we had a blast making it together. This is also good to use with a homemade white cake, if you'd rather not used boxed mix. GREAT recipe to make for Pride Week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I first saw the "Clown Vomit Cake" mentioned in a blog, and HAD to try it, just for the name. i used a homemade pound cake, colored the batter with gel food coloring (about 7 different colors,) and baked it it a tube pan. What a hit! Make a glaze and use some fun sprinkles on top. I have since used this idea to make a "Santa Vomit Cake" for Christmas, using plain batter, red, and green. What a great idea this is..... You can use different colors for different holidays...... Red, White, and Blue would be great for the 4th of July. Thanks for such and neat idea (P.S. when you color your batter, you can just "plop" it in the pan. It will marble while it bakes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gocoastl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Made these for easter! I bought neon and regular gel food coloring because it was all I could find and the colors turned out amazing! We used pink, green, blue, orange, yellow and purple for the cake and neon green, blue for the frosting. I also bought colored sugar (we made this into cupcakes) and topped each one with the different colors. They turned out amazingly bright and everyone loved them. My sister actually wants me to make a cake like this for her birthday. If you make cup cakes, just pour about 2 cups of the batter into 6 different bowls and add the gel coloring.. blend together and dump a tablespoon of each color into the cups. Two boxes made 34 cupcakes.. half of which were gone 30 minutes into our celebration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SerenaBloom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
My niece and I made these for her 7th birthday. We had a lot of fun mixing the bright colors. We layered the colored cake batter into muffin pans to make cupcakes and did not swirl the batter. To make layering easier I put the batter into sandwich baggies and piped it into the pan. I really thought the colors were going to be dull but was pleasantly surprised at how bright they turned out after baking. I frosted my cupcakes with Fluffy White Frosting from this site. Thanks so much, lovetohost, for such a fun colorful idea! I am sure we will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Loved this cake! Great party cake....made this to bring to a family gathering last night and everyone was "amazed" when I cut and served this cake.....I used green, blue, yellow, pink and orange paste colorings.....Looked like "Spring".... great idea LTH.....everyone kept asking "how did u make this??"..... and my brother asked.."is this one of those AR recipes that you make?"....You betcha!!!! Thanks for a fun recipe and tasty too.... Thinking of Red White and Blue for Memorial Day and 4th of July! Topped this cake which I made in a 9x13 with Cool Whip Frosting from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Mrs Harte
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I made these into cupcakes - they were so fun to make and eat! It made a beautiful tie-dye effect - I think next time I may try it in 2 round pans, and layer each color like the rainbow instead of swirling it. I passed this recipe on to two other friends that requested it! And I love the idea from one of the last reviewers of changing colors for the holidays :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I'm so glad you finally got this approved!! Absolutely delish and so fun to make. Used for my daughters butterfly cake and a beach cake for a luau party. Gel or powdering colorings are a godsend here to get vibrant colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamakittyto3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montrose, Iowa, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Awesome! I chose not to swirl my colors, as I wanted a more layered look than swirled one and was super happy with how they turned out. Super cute. Frosted with Butter Cream Frosting II for a yummy combo. Thanks LTH! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States