Rainbow Clown Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Made this back when she shared it on the Recipe Exchange. My kids flipped for it and we had a blast making it together. This is also good to use with a homemade white cake, if you'd rather not used boxed mix. GREAT recipe to make for Pride Week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I'm the recipe submitter (and I, obviously, love this cake!). If you have a favorite from scratch cake recipe, that works well, too! I no longer use the toothpick test; I prefer to gently press the top of the cupcake...if it *bounces* back-it's done (helps to prevent overbaking). These rock as cupcakes, too! These (in cake or cupcake form) are so simple to make, yet I've never taken them anywhere where they weren't "ooed" and "awed" over. Your friends and family will think you are a baking rock star when you show up w/these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I'm so glad you finally got this approved!! Absolutely delish and so fun to make. Used for my daughters butterfly cake and a beach cake for a luau party. Gel or powdering colorings are a godsend here to get vibrant colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamakittyto3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montrose, Iowa, USA
Photo by Jessi
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This was FUN. I made this into cupcakes for a friend's birthday, and they turned out wonderfully. They're delicious and just so much fun to make and look at! I didn't marble the colors, I kind of like them just stacked on top of each other. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessi

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I first saw the "Clown Vomit Cake" mentioned in a blog, and HAD to try it, just for the name. i used a homemade pound cake, colored the batter with gel food coloring (about 7 different colors,) and baked it it a tube pan. What a hit! Make a glaze and use some fun sprinkles on top. I have since used this idea to make a "Santa Vomit Cake" for Christmas, using plain batter, red, and green. What a great idea this is..... You can use different colors for different holidays...... Red, White, and Blue would be great for the 4th of July. Thanks for such and neat idea (P.S. when you color your batter, you can just "plop" it in the pan. It will marble while it bakes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gocoastl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs Harte
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I made these into cupcakes - they were so fun to make and eat! It made a beautiful tie-dye effect - I think next time I may try it in 2 round pans, and layer each color like the rainbow instead of swirling it. I passed this recipe on to two other friends that requested it! And I love the idea from one of the last reviewers of changing colors for the holidays :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Awesome! I chose not to swirl my colors, as I wanted a more layered look than swirled one and was super happy with how they turned out. Super cute. Frosted with Butter Cream Frosting II for a yummy combo. Thanks LTH! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Loved this cake! Great party cake....made this to bring to a family gathering last night and everyone was "amazed" when I cut and served this cake.....I used green, blue, yellow, pink and orange paste colorings.....Looked like "Spring".... great idea LTH.....everyone kept asking "how did u make this??"..... and my brother asked.."is this one of those AR recipes that you make?"....You betcha!!!! Thanks for a fun recipe and tasty too.... Thinking of Red White and Blue for Memorial Day and 4th of July! Topped this cake which I made in a 9x13 with Cool Whip Frosting from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Made into cupcakes. I also did not swirl the colors at all. I wanted a very straight, uniform "rainbow" type effect. This was VERY NEAT looking. I also used the regualr liquid food coloring, not the gel type. If you only have the liquid type coloring, here is the ratio of drops to make each color. PURPLE is 9 R and 6 B. BLUE is 12 drops. GREEN is 12 drops. YELLOW is 12 drops. ORANGE is 12 Y and 4 R. RED is 18 drops. The red will look a bit pink but will turn out bright red when baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
402 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I made these for St Patrick's Day and put a gold chocolate coin on top for decoration. These were so cute and so good! I followed the directions on the cake package and added 1 tsp almond extract. Frosted with white buttercream cake frosting and rainbox sprinkles. My three girls thought they were great! We will make these again! I love the fun name- clown vomit cake! CUTE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States