Rainbow Clown Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
These are so awesome!! I made jumbo cupcakes for my son's 7th bday and everyone loved them! They key is to use 8 or 9 in round cake pans and stack them or use jumbo cupcakes if you want to use more than 3 colors. I will be making thse again and again! Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ri2
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Perfect recipe and a splendid idea! They were a hit at my church fete! I used 1 box of white cake mix but intend to make my own white the next time I make this, coz I've found a perfectly YUM recipe for white cake...for those interested, the recipe is 'Simple White Cake' by Scottosman! Like the other reviewers suggested, I didn't swirl the colours too, and I'm glad I didn't! Also, I followed My4boys's suggestion on getting the colours as well! For those who can't find her review here's an excerpt from her review: 'If you only have the liquid type coloring, here is the ratio of drops to make each color. PURPLE is 9 R and 6 B. BLUE is 12 drops. GREEN is 12 drops. YELLOW is 12 drops. ORANGE is 12 Y and 4 R. RED is 18 drops. The red will look a bit pink but will turn out bright red when baked.' I frosted this with 'Buttercream Icing' by Sharon Gerstman. I didn't colour the icing because I wanted a contrast to the colourful cake! Once again, thank you lovestohost for this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Great idea! Fun cake to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
5 stars for presentation! Kids and adults love this. I used the Cream Cheese Pound Cake III recipe from this site for the base here, and split one cake recipe into two small bundt/angel food pans for gifts (1 hour at 325). Mixed 6 colors and dropped evenly between the two pans. Also, I've split batter three ways (orange, green and white - no food color) for St Pat's day, and am making right now using spring colors for Easter. Lots of fun, thanks for sharing, and for the food coloring drop ratios (they work great)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylovestoeat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This cake was beautiful! Only problem was that it was a lot of food coloring. Kids loved it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Haner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Delicious! I used two boxes to make a double layer round 9 inch cake. My 4 year old daughter had so much fun mixing the colors in. I used the Buttercream frosting II with this cake and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Fun, fun, fun! It was fun for the whole family. A very moist and SUPRISINGLY colorful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Photo by Bobbie Susan
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I love this cake. It turned out perfect and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Thought I would try making these bright & wonderful cupcakes since I love bright colors & wear tie-dye as often as I can :) these little delights were just that....DELIGHTFUL :) THANK YOU TO THE PERSON WHO GAVE THE RATIOS OF FOOD COLORING & TO LOVESTOHOST FOR SHARING :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I made cupcakes instead of one cake, but they turned out really pretty, I used less coloring to have a pastel look. I also looked up white cake recipe instead of using white cake mix since it taste sooo much better than cake made from a package if you bake your cupcakes from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States