Rainbow Clown Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This recipe was quite disappointing. I tried to follow the recipe without using a cake mix, and making a white cake from scratch, using only the dry ingredients that the recipe shared in common with a mix. This made the batter extremely thin-- like soup. At this point I was doubtful already, so I tasted the batter. It barely had any flavor so I added some vanilla. I made the batter rainbowy, put it in the oven, and waited apprehensively. When it was ready, they hadn't even risen 1/2 way, but they were ready. I took a bite of one, and to my dismay, they tasted like less flavorful mini angel food cakes. YUCK. So, I threw all 24 cupcakes a away and proceeded to make a new batch from a yellow cake recipe (and they turned out great!). So, I rated it 2 stars because teh dying concept was cool. I'm sticking to my yellow rainbow cake recipe though. Any recipe that relies on a MIX deserves no more than 2 stars in my book. ~Bae
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Photo by candy_rose_25
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Makes great cupcakes! Kids love them! The cupcakes were moist, light and fluffy. Love love. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candy_rose_25

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I made cupcakes. Fun to make and fun to eat! Everyone loved them. Frosted with Cream Cheese Frosting II.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
oh my gosh! i made this cake with my kids and it is SO FUN. we didn't have gel coloring...just the regular liquid stuff you get in the bottles. also, since we live at high altitude i added in about 1.5 tbls of flour just incase. it came out perfectly! the colors are so pretty and the cupcake was yummy too. thanks for the great recipe...we're making it again later on this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
My daughter LOVED helping make this into cupcakes! So much fun :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Very good and it came out perfect! I did not swirl the colors and it came out very cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
10 stars! I baked this recipe into cupcakes, and striped the colors instead of swirling them. If you want to be a superstar with your kids or anyone else's, make this recipe! My daughter loved them, her friends loved them, and they were delicious. I topped them with a vanilla bean cream cheese buttercream frosting and they were fabulous--exactly how you would expect a birthday cake to taste! Perfect method LTH, thanks for sharing!! *Update--I frosted these cupcakes with this frosting. Fabulous combination! http://allrecipes.com/PersonalRecipe/62789942/Vanilla-Bean-Birthday-Cupcake-Frosting/Detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
very easy to prepare! & it makes a great impression. I found it best to spoon in the different colors then slightly stir with a fork to get a tie-died look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muddyh2os

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by coleebear
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Fun to make. My 11 year old daughter helped. They taste pretty good. Not being a huge cake person I ate two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I made this recipe into cupcakes for my daughter's second birthday party. I didn't mix the colors, just dolloped a bit of each color into the cupcake liners to bake. Everyone was in awe over the colors! I did use gel food coloring, and the colors were vibrant. Simple to make, though a bit more time consuming than I anticipated - however it was well worth the effort. I topped with a simple butter cream frosting and rainbow sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States