Rainbow Clown Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I will be making this again. It looked great and tasted even better. I used regular drop-in food coloring and the colors were still bright. Needed another batch, but realized I was out of eggs- searched for a substitution and used some sprite instead. Those turned out even brighter and softer. Try this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle Nelson
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Fun, but I think it make the cake taste funny. Maybe it was just a mental thing for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Made these as cupcakes for my daughter to take to school for her birthday. They were a HUGE hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aopiuofc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Simply brilliant!! Literally :) The cake not only looks awesome - it turned out really moist and flavorful, too - The color combinations are endless making this a truly easy and versatile keeper!! Thanks for creating and posting this, LTH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Very cute idea. I'd been trying for months to impress my boyfriend's friends, and when one of their birthdays rolled around, I decided to go all out on the cake. Didn't marbleize the colors, because I thought stripes worked better for the rainbow idea. I used gel colors, and the colors turned out vibrant. The technique did seem to reduce the yield (I had to go through two boxes of mix for a two layer 9 inch cake) so that's something to be aware of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This was the biggest flop I have ever made. I made it in a 2 layer cake and both layers completely stuck to the pans. Great idea but I wouldn't follow the recipe it shows I would just make a regular cake with the instructions that are shown on the box and color it accordingly. I think this recipe makes the cake too crumbly and it just fell apart. So now my nephew is stuck with a cake for his birthday that looks like a 5 year old made it :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STRAWBERRY02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Made this into cupcakes and also another time into a cake. The kids LOVED it in cupcakes and the adults loved it in the cake version. Its so awesome looking. I used liquid and gel food coloring and it came at well with both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DemaDema

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Taste was OK...box cake mix. The coloring idea was great. My 6 year-old LOVED it! I would not make it for the taste alone. But the idea and end product is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This was so much fun to make. The kids loved all the different colors. I separated the batter into 5 different bowls - each cupcake got a teaspoon of colored batter - 4 teaspoon total of each color, perfect amount of batter. Would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Very fun & good. I made for a 26 yr old funky kinda girl (daughter) and she loved it. So did everyone else. I only used 4 colors and found the gel food color at Hobby Lobby. Now everyone want's this cake for their BD...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States