Rainbow Clown Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I will be making this again. It looked great and tasted even better. I used regular drop-in food coloring and the colors were still bright. Needed another batch, but realized I was out of eggs- searched for a substitution and used some sprite instead. Those turned out even brighter and softer. Try this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle Nelson
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Fun, but I think it make the cake taste funny. Maybe it was just a mental thing for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Made these as cupcakes for my daughter to take to school for her birthday. They were a HUGE hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aopiuofc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Simply brilliant!! Literally :) The cake not only looks awesome - it turned out really moist and flavorful, too - The color combinations are endless making this a truly easy and versatile keeper!! Thanks for creating and posting this, LTH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Very cute idea. I'd been trying for months to impress my boyfriend's friends, and when one of their birthdays rolled around, I decided to go all out on the cake. Didn't marbleize the colors, because I thought stripes worked better for the rainbow idea. I used gel colors, and the colors turned out vibrant. The technique did seem to reduce the yield (I had to go through two boxes of mix for a two layer 9 inch cake) so that's something to be aware of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This was the biggest flop I have ever made. I made it in a 2 layer cake and both layers completely stuck to the pans. Great idea but I wouldn't follow the recipe it shows I would just make a regular cake with the instructions that are shown on the box and color it accordingly. I think this recipe makes the cake too crumbly and it just fell apart. So now my nephew is stuck with a cake for his birthday that looks like a 5 year old made it :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STRAWBERRY02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Made this into cupcakes and also another time into a cake. The kids LOVED it in cupcakes and the adults loved it in the cake version. Its so awesome looking. I used liquid and gel food coloring and it came at well with both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DemaDema

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Taste was OK...box cake mix. The coloring idea was great. My 6 year-old LOVED it! I would not make it for the taste alone. But the idea and end product is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This was so much fun to make. The kids loved all the different colors. I separated the batter into 5 different bowls - each cupcake got a teaspoon of colored batter - 4 teaspoon total of each color, perfect amount of batter. Would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Very fun & good. I made for a 26 yr old funky kinda girl (daughter) and she loved it. So did everyone else. I only used 4 colors and found the gel food color at Hobby Lobby. Now everyone want's this cake for their BD...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States