Rainbow Clown Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I followed the directions on my cake box instead of using what these directions say. I used gel coloring. The colors turned out great! This was really a very easy way to make a fun cake. I did one small round cake and about 10 cupcakes for my son's 2nd b'day. It was a hit b/c of the fun colors. The flavor was good but it is just a box cake so nothing to write home about. The 4th star is for the clever idea :) I might make again for the kids if they want but the adults were needing something a little more adult-like....... you know, like chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I needed a cake for a friend of mine who was 1. Having a birthday and 2. Getting promoted to Supervisor. We usually do store bought cakes but I wanted to surprise my crew so I made this an ice cream cake. I baked the cake in a glass bowl alternating the colors. It baked up beautifully! I put the ice cream in a foil lined cake pan. I turned the ice cream out onto a plate and topped it with the Clown bowl. I frosted the whole thing with homemade frosting and used different colored gumballs to decorate the whole thing. We call my friend Becky Ball, hence the Ball theme. She Loved it!! It was delicious! If a bit messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Everyone loved this at my son's 1st b-day party. It was a little extra work, but not too bad, and my 5 year old helped. I followed the guide from another reviewer. R 18 Y 12 G 12, B 12 drop food coloring. I skipped O 12 Y and 4R and P 9 R 6 B.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Easy to follow directions, turned out great. Has wower everyone each time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
really cool idea, but all the food coloring made our insides weird...nuf said
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Perry Cardenas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Pine Key, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Very pretty cake...I made it for my 2 year old's birthday. I used regular food coloring...using the number of drops recommended by another reviewer. It turned out very bright and vibrant. A very nice surprise when cutting through white frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by THEINGRAMS4
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
My youngest daughter loves rainbow colors so I made this for her birthday yesterday. I did this in a rectangle 9x13 pan so I didn't think I would get the nice even layer effect, but it turned out better than expected, with a slight swirl so it looked tie dyed. I used gel food coloring from the local crafts store. This was excellent and produced very vivid and bright colors. I posted a photo of it on my Facebook page and I got rave reviews on how it looked. Tastes good too. By the way, my daughter loved it, and now her older sister wants one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This cake is not only delicious but looks so neat, too! My 5 year old daughter and her friend made it together and did almost all of the work themselves. Easy to make and will definitely be making again! The grocery store didn't have paste food coloring, so I bought a 4-pack of neon gel food coloring. I used liquid food coloring I had on hand for the remaining 2 bowls of batter and they all turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Im so glad i found this.What a cute cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
My kids will never let me make a plain cake ever again!! I just used this as an idea, I made my batter exactly as the box said, divided between 6 bowls, added a ton of food coloring ( I used neon colors). In a 9x13 I put random globs all over. They did NOT mix together and made an AMAZING NEON TIE DIE CAKE!! I colored sugar the same colors and made a random pattern on the top as well over the frosting! It a HUGE hit! I had strangers asking to take pics of the cake when we cut into it!! It took a lot of dishes and a fair amount of time, but it was TOTALLY WORTH IT and WAY COOLER than any EXPENSIVE STORE BOUGHT CAKE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States