Rainbow Clown Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by bellyftw
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Presentation-wise, this looked so good! I used Wilton's gel paste and all it took was a small dab on the tip of a toothpick to get a light pastel shade, exactly the way I wanted it. Did not swirl the batter, but instead layered it by colour. Do take note of the number of colours you have and spoon in proportionate amounts cause you can't undo the layering! hehehe. Taste-wise, it was not that great; but that is probably because I used a cheap cake mix. I frosted the cupcake with some leftover cream cheese — looked nice but the taste didn't really blend. But I would still make this again, it is too pretty to pass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellyftw

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I've made this three times now. It's always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This is such an ingenious idea and frankly, I'm a little disappointed that I never thought of this. I made red, white, and blue cupcakes with this recipe and they came out so cute. I used regular food color and it worked just fine. The blue isn't that dark but it worked. This dish inspired me to make red, white, and blue rice krispy treats and they also turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Wonderful concept. Must do again. See notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I'm just gonna go ahead and rate this five since I'm sure I'll love the results.. everyone elses cakes look AMAZING! I'm going to make this for my little sisters fifth birthday! but I'm going to make it when shes sleeping so she doesnt see what im doing! >:) that way it will be a surprize when she gets a piece of "white" cake! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
i really have to try this! so many five star ratings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Holly Chadwick
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I used 8oz jelly jars (sprayed inside with pan coating) and filled them 1/2 full using teaspoons. I then set the jars in a lasagna pan and filled the bottom with 1/2 inch of water. Bake about 50 minutes (or when toothpick comes out clean) The kids LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Chadwick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jadedgurl
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
My aunt used to make something similar when I was a kid. I used food coloring instead lf paste or gel...and I started checking it early so it would not dry out. Everyone loved it and so pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadedgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
OMG, so much work but awesome, everyone thinks they are so cute and unique. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mary_o
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Yummy fun! Made cupcakes from this recipe with my 6 & 4 yo niece and nephew and they had a blast! (Although, I'm not sure if their favorite part wasn't licking all the bowls!) We used a Duncan Hines white cake-mix and made the cake according to the recipe on the box, using egg whites. Used gel paste, neon and regular, and they turned out very bright! We also made 3 different color icings and topped with sprinkles. The kids were so excited about being a part of making them and couldn't wait to see the end results so they stayed very engaged in the project. YMMV. I was originally concerned the colors would blend together, but that wasn't an issue at all since the batter was thick enough. I used cupcake liners, but would not use them in the future. The ones I used were thin and their lack of weight caused them to ride up in the muffin tins until they were full, and it made filling them more tedious. My experience was they created an extra step/expense that just wasn't necessary. Used the White Cake Frosting II recipe from this site, but used butter flavored Crisco i/o plain. The flavor was great, but it made the color of the icing off-white, so if you're wanting white icing, don't substitute. I also needed more than the 4 T water the recipe called for. I'm not a cake mix kinda gal, but I must say, they tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary_o

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States