Rainbow Citrus Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
It was fun to make but came out very dry even though I baked it for less time than it called for and I used cake flour so there was less gluten. My family didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Netherlain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This is a delicious ,moist and light cake. I made it for a group o15 and everyone requested me to make it again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
it's so hard making a fruity cake that my friends would like but DAMM. the frosting make it even better my vegan friend almost licked it all off. honestly fanciest thing I've ever made and I don't bake ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Not bad. Needs a little tweaking. I'm going to try it again with perhaps a bit more flavoring. I'm definitely not giving up yet. Also my coloring wasn't as distinct as the photo. I might need to bump that up also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Great cake, made it for Easter took the advise of using the golden orange frosting and lemon cream filling. My grandkids loved this cake. I did use Swans Down cake flour instead of all purpose. Will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. The cake was very dry, even with the lemon curd. I had some colored candy dragees in pastel shades so the presentation was great! The buttercream was ok. I had to add more milk because it was too tight to spread but that was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martinevagnier

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I made this for Easter since my husband is a big citrus fan. I used three 8-inch pans (deep Wilton pans) so it made a very tall cake. Also, I did not fill it with lemon curd, but instead made 3 flavors of citrus icing by combining two cups of powdered sugar, 5 T. softened butter, 1/2 t. zest (or more to taste) and enough juice to make a spreadable icing. I then frosted each layer with its accompanying flavor of frosting. It probably would have been just as good if I had made just one flavor of icing (take your pick!) and frosted all the layers with the same icing. The cake crumb is delicate, but a little on the dry side (as most scratch cakes are). Husband loved it. I might make it again for a special occasion; otherwise it is too much cake for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. My cake layers were way too thin and too moist - very hard to work with. My lemon custard wouldn't set up, and my icing was way to thick to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Excellent recipe! I just love the presentation and flavor of this cake. So pretty! I made the cake itself as written and loved the subtle but still tasty citrus flavors. The texture was firm yet moist (those who found it dry almost definitely over-baked it. This is the number one reason for dry cakes). I used a jar of Dickenson's lemon curd and my own recipe for buttercream frosting that I flavored orange. But honestly, I am totally baffled by the reviewers who think this is an overly-time consuming cake. I can only assume that they are comparing this to making a box cake, and even then, this is takes only slightly more time to prepare. I had the cake prepared, in their pans and in the oven in less than 20 minutes. Delicious and truly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States