Ragu Bolognese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2002
While I agree with most everything in this recipe, if you are going to take this much time (as you should) to make a good ragu, you should reduce the meat several times with infusions of broth, balsamic vinegar, wine. Otherwise, he is right, real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This was a nice basic sauce, a little bland for my taste, but the rest of the family adores it. I have tons put away in the freezer for something fast but wholesome on those busy weekdays, so I am happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manilla, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Time-consuming so I make up a huge batch and freeze it. my kids love it, the meat becomes so tender,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This ragu recipe is outstanding. I make it ahead and put in quart size bags in the freezer. When I want a fast, authentic tasting, meaty spaghetti sauce I combine one quart sized frozen package of ragu and mix with my favorite jar sauce and serve over pasta. I follow the recipe to the letter, mmmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This turned out great, it is definitely in my rotation now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I halved the recipe and wish I hadn't so I had more leftovers! Delicious and exactly what I was looking for. I did change a few things per other suggestions. I only used beef (that's all I had) and infused the meat/veggie mix with about a tablespoon of balsamic vinegar, white wine, a little beef broth and the milk. I let that boil down and then added the tomato sauce and the rest of the broth. Definitely let it simmer the amount of time given. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This is a great sauce. Doubled the recipe and used it to make lasagna, a little pricey but worth it. I love to cook and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nahant, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Not exactly what I was expecting. But I still gave it 4 stars because the flavor of the meat was great, it just needs something else before you put it over the pasta. For the leftovers I will either add it to can spaghetti sauce like one commentator does, or add some tomato paste and tomato puree to thicken it up and really make it a "sauce" for the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
My omnivore son has never had a taste for spaghetti & meat sauce until he tasted this...FABULOUS ! Not a hint of acidity and so easy. (I did cheat and add a little garlic....I just couldn't help myself)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was very good. Ends up being pretty spendy, but the meat is so tender! I used priscutto instead of pancetta. That was as close as I could find. I wonder how much the taste would have changed if I had used pancetta?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MookiePie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Spicy Sausage Ragu

Watch how to make a super easy, unbelievably delicious pasta sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States