Ragu Bolognese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Absolutely outstanding. Best recipe i've found on here yet, because I made practically no amendments to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Time consuming and worth every minute of it! The complexity of flavor is exciting in every bite full. Few small changes...De-glazed the pan with 1 cup white wine after the meat had cooked through, used tomato paste instead of sauce, added just a few strokes of fresh grated nutmeg to the finished sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKRATERF

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Delicious Bolognese recipe. I have tried a dozen different Bolognese recipes over the past year or two and this definitely ranks near the top. I agree with JLDELAP that it makes it even better to add wine and reduce a few times throughout the cooking process. This was the first time I used balsamic in a Bolognese recipe, and I liked what it did to the sauce. Lastly, I also mix in grated nutmeg at the end which also makes the sauce great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Outstanding! We all loved this. I did a little balsamic during the reduction stage . . .before the milk . . .and also added about 1/2 cup heavy cream and reduced. I did use some garlic. I divided into thirds, added about 2 c. marinara to 1/3 and had the perfect amound for one box of rigatoni. Everyone loved this! Thx for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Not bad.....needs something, tho'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Really very, very good. I followed one reviewer and added balsamic vinegar. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Really wonderful recipe, even when cutting it in half. Try it with al-dente whole wheat pasta. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was very good. Ends up being pretty spendy, but the meat is so tender! I used priscutto instead of pancetta. That was as close as I could find. I wonder how much the taste would have changed if I had used pancetta?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MookiePie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
My omnivore son has never had a taste for spaghetti & meat sauce until he tasted this...FABULOUS ! Not a hint of acidity and so easy. (I did cheat and add a little garlic....I just couldn't help myself)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Not exactly what I was expecting. But I still gave it 4 stars because the flavor of the meat was great, it just needs something else before you put it over the pasta. For the leftovers I will either add it to can spaghetti sauce like one commentator does, or add some tomato paste and tomato puree to thicken it up and really make it a "sauce" for the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Spicy Sausage Ragu

Watch how to make a super easy, unbelievably delicious pasta sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States