Rae's Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Great way to start.. here are some adjustments I made based on my ingredients at home... was amazing as well! 2 cloves garlic, minced 4 tablespoons olive oil 1 tbs celery salt 1/2 diced white onion 1 jalapeno 1 (28 ounce) can diced tomatoes with juice 1 red pepper, diced 1 tablespoons chili powder, or to taste 1 teaspoon dried oregano and basil freshly whole black pepper 1 teaspoon ground cumin 1/8 teaspoon tabasco sauce 1/2 (15 ounce) can garbanzo beans, drained 1 (15 ounce) can kidney beans, drained and rinsed 1 (15 ounce) pint whole kernel corn, drained and rinsed saute onion, garlic and spices, add red pepper, 5 mins, add can of tomatoes, then finally the rest, simmer on med. for 25 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I liked this recipe, except all the beans. I used only white and black beans and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Great recipe! I used stewed tomatoes instead and left out the garbonzon beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by passerby1214

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I was really happy with this recipe and my family loved it. We put it over baked potatoes. I added half of a medium onion (sauteed with the garlic) and substituted an extra can of kidney beans for the cannellini beans since I had a bunch on hand. The beer is great and the spices had a nice balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepeachpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cerrito, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
The mustard and beer we're really overpowering. Luckily, it's chili, so it was easy to doctor up to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I've been searching high and low for a great veggie chili and THIS is it! Made it for a Sunday get together and had nothing but rave reviews. I did saute a small onion and some green pepper with the garlic (I used 2 TBS). I also used a can of Miller Light since that's what we had. My friends don't like spicy, so I only used 3 TBS of chili powder and no hot sauce. But I'll be sure to spice up the leftovers... it is so delicious mild or hot! Serve it with shredded cheddar and sour cream, just delish! Oh, and I skipped the garbanzos...ick. Instead, I used small white beans and extra kidneys. You can suit it to your taste. Don't skip the beer OR the mustard or cumin...you'll be sorry! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINAPEACOCK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
love it, love it, love it, love it. This is a cold-weather staple in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALICEK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
A little to spicy for the kids. I serves it over tortila chips with sour cream and shredded cheese, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Great recipe! I varied it a bit based on what I had in the pantry. Started by sauteeing garlic, onion, yellow bell pepper, a jalepeno, one small habanero, and some baby carrots until softish. Then I added the spices and let those soak into the veggies for a minute or so. I omitted the tomato sauce, but doubled the diced tomatoes. Used Bass as the beer and it smelled wonderful as the alcohol was cooking off. Chili was wonderfully spicy and I served it with a dollop of fat free plain yogurt. Can't wait to eat more tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This is a GREAT recipe. The beans and corn make this a nice thick chili and you don't miss the meat. I sauteed some onion along with the garlic. I tried this with a Yuengling Porter, which gives a interesting bitter (good bitter) flavor, but it needed to be sweetened a little, so I added a few tablespoons of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poolesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States