Rae's Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Megan
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Easy to make & lots of leftovers. I added extra garlic and hot sauce. Could sub a can of black bean soup instead the can of black beans if you want it even thicker. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This was just delicious!! Just made a few minor changes: I added a whole 14 oz. tin of unsalted tomato sauce, sauted a chopped onion, green pepper, some sliced carrot and one diced celery stalk. I also threw in one finely chopped jalapeno. Next time, I'll put in two. I used not one grain of salt - my canned tomatoes were also salt free and the flavour was so good that it wasn't missed at all. I also let it simmer for 45 minutes. It makes a huge pot and what doesn't get eaten for lunch this week, I will freeze the rest. As I am on a low cholesterol diet, I left out the cheese. Thank you, Rae! This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Very, very good recipe. I used a variation of this recipe and won bragging rights at my company chilli cook off. I was even asked to make it again at an administrative meeting (I'm not in administration!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
This was delicious - sauteed chopped celery, onion and green pepper with the garlic. The beer really added to it. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This was only ok, especially for the amount of ingredients and work that went into it, I was expecting a lot more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This was good. I thought the taste of beer was pretty strong and I like beer but I thought it was a little overpowering. I would make this again but probably use maybe half the amount of beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This chili was edible but very unremarkable. My husband made it to take to a chili cookoff, and not only did it not win, it was one of only two chilis (out of 27 entries) that were leftover after the event! The only thing we can think of that would have made it better was to use a different beer. He used "Sierra Nevada Pale Ale", which in spite of its name is a fairly hearty brew. Perhaps the chili would be better made with Miller light or similar? After tasting this, I can't help but wonder if some of the prior reviewers were taken in by the "coolness factor" of serving chili made with beer. Let me be the first to tell you -- the coolness factor does not make up for the taste of this stuff. And the nearly 200 people who attended this chili cookoff - and chose not to eat it - are proof of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Very good. Cut back chili powder to 2 - 3 tbls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I am making this for a second time. we love the flavor of this chili. I love how quick and easy this recipe is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Well, it was easy to make. It's basically a bucket of canned beans; a combo of beer and too much dry mustard. My husband liked it, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States