Radish Top Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This delicious soup was rich and creamy tasting even without the cream. I simply added extra broth after it was blended to adjust the thickness. I also added 3/4 cup of chopped celery and an extra potato to the cooking pot, along with a pinch each of dried parsley, sage, rosemary and thyme. (Sing while you add these!) I was afraid at first to tell my teenaged son what I was making for dinner, but he helped, and the whole family loved the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYCE LITOFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
This was delicious, but trying to stay low fat I did not add heavy cream to the soup. Instead after ladling into the soup bowl I added a dollop of low fat sour cream and garnished with a brunoise of radish. I also use fresh radish tops mixed into tossed salads it gives it a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fingers77

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Westwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly except for two things: I only let it simmer for 20 minutes, instead of 30 (I was short on time) and I didn't have any heavy cream on hand so I used 1/2 cup of raw whole milk, which has high cream content, so it worked well. You could probably cut the cream out if you wanted to cut some calories, but the milk did make it a bit creamier. I'll never throw my radish tops out again! This is now one of my husband's favorite soups - mine, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Another "wanted to use my radish greens instead of just throwing them out." I substituted milk for the heavy cream, which is a bit of a stretch but my goal was to combine ingredients on hand with radish greens into something edible, and this recipe met that goal admirably. Also, since potatoes, onions, and milk are all cheap, and the radish greens were "free", this made for an inexpensive side dish. And tasty as well. I will definitely be making this with our radish tops from now on! UPDATE: I have to change this to five stars because my wife has started buying radishes just so we can make this soup. She doesn't like radishes though, so now we're eating the tops and throwing away the radishes. Not what I had in mind when I searched for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stannius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
This soup tastes much better than it looks while cooking! Resembles spinach soup, and one would never guess it's radish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I altered the recipe a lot to use up what I had at home. I used milk ( instead of cream. I also added several radishes to the pureed mix to use them up, but I had no potatos so it was not as thick. I sauteed some onions, carrots, and celery and added them to the soup to give it some bulk. It was delicious, and I'm sure I could pass it off as spinach and no one would know. (Everyone was appalled when I told them I made radish soup) I think this recipe is great because radishes are so cheap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
WOW!!! Wasn't sure what to expect and this was wonderful! Even my uber-picky husband likes it!! Followed recipe to a tee, just added garlic and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy H W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Wow, who knew you could eat radish greens? By themselves I find them too bitter but in this soup they were good. I wanted a more potato soup kind of outcome, so I added a few more potatoes, chopped celery, about 2 TBS of minced garlic (I like garlic) and about 1 cup of chopped garden herbs (dill, lemon thyme, sage, rosemary). If you want more of a "punch" I'd follow the other reviewer's suggestion to add hot sauce, but if you're anti-spicy like me and just want to use up a ton of garden herbs and radish tops, you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Neosho, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
This is a great soup. I added a touch of Green Tabasco and just a little cellery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Oak Ridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Tasted nice and ... green. I added milk, probably about two cups to make it a drinkable soup. Good cold, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Talmadge

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States