Radish Top Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I had some nice fresh radish tops from my first garden and searched for a recipe to try. What a surprise! VERY nice. Thank you for sharing this recipe. UPDATE (4/2011): This years first radish harvest inspired me to make this soup again. This time I added some chopped radish to the onion when I sauted them. I also added some swiss chard, which was also ready from the garden. I used margoram as an herb. It was WoNDeRFuL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Surprisingly good! I made significant changes to the recipe to use up some leftover mashed potatoes and gravy, and the end result was very tasty. I used 3 cups of mashed potatoes, 1 cup of brown gravy, and 3 cups water instead of the potatoes and chicken broth. I also added 4 cloves of garlic and substituted half & half for the heavy cream. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I thought this was a great surprise! Creamy with a hint of something different. And yes, green! Now, what to do with all the radishes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Me and my food class group made this for an assignment. Overall the product was good, but it did not look appetizing. Most people in my class wouldn't even try it! The texture was a little weird but at least you could really taste the chicken flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly except for two things: I only let it simmer for 20 minutes, instead of 30 (I was short on time) and I didn't have any heavy cream on hand so I used 1/2 cup of raw whole milk, which has high cream content, so it worked well. You could probably cut the cream out if you wanted to cut some calories, but the milk did make it a bit creamier. I'll never throw my radish tops out again! This is now one of my husband's favorite soups - mine, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I altered the recipe a lot to use up what I had at home. I used milk ( instead of cream. I also added several radishes to the pureed mix to use them up, but I had no potatos so it was not as thick. I sauteed some onions, carrots, and celery and added them to the soup to give it some bulk. It was delicious, and I'm sure I could pass it off as spinach and no one would know. (Everyone was appalled when I told them I made radish soup) I think this recipe is great because radishes are so cheap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I made this with vegetarian vegetable broth, added some carrots,and threw some radish roots in as well (I had so much I didn't know what to do with them) turned out real good. everyone loved it. its just like a spinach soup. warm and creamy. delicious with crackers. I've made twice. can't wait to make it a third time. I don't think it is entirely necessary to boil for 30 minutes. I cut it down to 20. and I imediately poured into the blender without giving it a chance to cool. I don't recommend doing that unless you are very careful about not splashing the boiling soup around, could burn you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
OH MY!! Fixing this I thought "UG! It's green" but it has to be the best soup I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harriman, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Wow, who knew you could eat radish greens? By themselves I find them too bitter but in this soup they were good. I wanted a more potato soup kind of outcome, so I added a few more potatoes, chopped celery, about 2 TBS of minced garlic (I like garlic) and about 1 cup of chopped garden herbs (dill, lemon thyme, sage, rosemary). If you want more of a "punch" I'd follow the other reviewer's suggestion to add hot sauce, but if you're anti-spicy like me and just want to use up a ton of garden herbs and radish tops, you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Neosho, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States