Radish Top Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I really enjoyed this unusual soup. I am a Peace Corps volunteer in Guatemala so I have to cook with what is cheap and locally available so radishes fit the bill! What a creative use for radish tops. I added some cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emily crawford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This delicious soup was rich and creamy tasting even without the cream. I simply added extra broth after it was blended to adjust the thickness. I also added 3/4 cup of chopped celery and an extra potato to the cooking pot, along with a pinch each of dried parsley, sage, rosemary and thyme. (Sing while you add these!) I was afraid at first to tell my teenaged son what I was making for dinner, but he helped, and the whole family loved the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYCE LITOFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Suprisingly good, again reminded of thick, creamed spinach soup. Even my husband liked it - whose sometimes iffy on new veggie recipes. Doubled the radish greens (2 bunches and 4 potatoes) but kept rest of recipe proportions the same. Used regular full fat yougurt, as didn't have cream on hand. Added a tablespoon of curry and teaspoon of black pepper for an extra bit of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I had some nice fresh radish tops from my first garden and searched for a recipe to try. What a surprise! VERY nice. Thank you for sharing this recipe. UPDATE (4/2011): This years first radish harvest inspired me to make this soup again. This time I added some chopped radish to the onion when I sauted them. I also added some swiss chard, which was also ready from the garden. I used margoram as an herb. It was WoNDeRFuL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Surprisingly good! I made significant changes to the recipe to use up some leftover mashed potatoes and gravy, and the end result was very tasty. I used 3 cups of mashed potatoes, 1 cup of brown gravy, and 3 cups water instead of the potatoes and chicken broth. I also added 4 cloves of garlic and substituted half & half for the heavy cream. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I thought this was a great surprise! Creamy with a hint of something different. And yes, green! Now, what to do with all the radishes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Me and my food class group made this for an assignment. Overall the product was good, but it did not look appetizing. Most people in my class wouldn't even try it! The texture was a little weird but at least you could really taste the chicken flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly except for two things: I only let it simmer for 20 minutes, instead of 30 (I was short on time) and I didn't have any heavy cream on hand so I used 1/2 cup of raw whole milk, which has high cream content, so it worked well. You could probably cut the cream out if you wanted to cut some calories, but the milk did make it a bit creamier. I'll never throw my radish tops out again! This is now one of my husband's favorite soups - mine, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I altered the recipe a lot to use up what I had at home. I used milk ( instead of cream. I also added several radishes to the pureed mix to use them up, but I had no potatos so it was not as thick. I sauteed some onions, carrots, and celery and added them to the soup to give it some bulk. It was delicious, and I'm sure I could pass it off as spinach and no one would know. (Everyone was appalled when I told them I made radish soup) I think this recipe is great because radishes are so cheap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States