Radish Top Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
This soup tastes much better than it looks while cooking! Resembles spinach soup, and one would never guess it's radish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Tasted nice and ... green. I added milk, probably about two cups to make it a drinkable soup. Good cold, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Talmadge

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
This was delicious, but trying to stay low fat I did not add heavy cream to the soup. Instead after ladling into the soup bowl I added a dollop of low fat sour cream and garnished with a brunoise of radish. I also use fresh radish tops mixed into tossed salads it gives it a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fingers77

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Westwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
This is a great soup. I added a touch of Green Tabasco and just a little cellery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Oak Ridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
This was very tasty and filling. I used a little half and half and a little 2% milk instead of heavy cream and the soup came out very heavy. I also added a very small garlic clove, and because I had no chicken broth, a mixture of water and white wine. It's also good with Parmesan cheese grated over the bowl. I would make this again, and probably add a mixture of other salad greens. I'll never throw out radish greens again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparta, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Wow, who knew you could eat radish greens? By themselves I find them too bitter but in this soup they were good. I wanted a more potato soup kind of outcome, so I added a few more potatoes, chopped celery, about 2 TBS of minced garlic (I like garlic) and about 1 cup of chopped garden herbs (dill, lemon thyme, sage, rosemary). If you want more of a "punch" I'd follow the other reviewer's suggestion to add hot sauce, but if you're anti-spicy like me and just want to use up a ton of garden herbs and radish tops, you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Neosho, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
OH MY!! Fixing this I thought "UG! It's green" but it has to be the best soup I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph Seibert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harriman, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I made this with vegetarian vegetable broth, added some carrots,and threw some radish roots in as well (I had so much I didn't know what to do with them) turned out real good. everyone loved it. its just like a spinach soup. warm and creamy. delicious with crackers. I've made twice. can't wait to make it a third time. I don't think it is entirely necessary to boil for 30 minutes. I cut it down to 20. and I imediately poured into the blender without giving it a chance to cool. I don't recommend doing that unless you are very careful about not splashing the boiling soup around, could burn you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I altered the recipe a lot to use up what I had at home. I used milk ( instead of cream. I also added several radishes to the pureed mix to use them up, but I had no potatos so it was not as thick. I sauteed some onions, carrots, and celery and added them to the soup to give it some bulk. It was delicious, and I'm sure I could pass it off as spinach and no one would know. (Everyone was appalled when I told them I made radish soup) I think this recipe is great because radishes are so cheap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly except for two things: I only let it simmer for 20 minutes, instead of 30 (I was short on time) and I didn't have any heavy cream on hand so I used 1/2 cup of raw whole milk, which has high cream content, so it worked well. You could probably cut the cream out if you wanted to cut some calories, but the milk did make it a bit creamier. I'll never throw my radish tops out again! This is now one of my husband's favorite soups - mine, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States