Radish Top Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Really very good! The potatoes seem to be the prominent flavor here. I didn't have any heavy cream so I used half & half and it was plenty creamy. Also, it needs a little salt. Other than that, it was great! Such a great way to utilize vegetables that would otherwise be thrown away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy
Home Town: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I really enjoyed this unusual soup. I am a Peace Corps volunteer in Guatemala so I have to cook with what is cheap and locally available so radishes fit the bill! What a creative use for radish tops. I added some cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emily crawford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This delicious soup was rich and creamy tasting even without the cream. I simply added extra broth after it was blended to adjust the thickness. I also added 3/4 cup of chopped celery and an extra potato to the cooking pot, along with a pinch each of dried parsley, sage, rosemary and thyme. (Sing while you add these!) I was afraid at first to tell my teenaged son what I was making for dinner, but he helped, and the whole family loved the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYCE LITOFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Suprisingly good, again reminded of thick, creamed spinach soup. Even my husband liked it - whose sometimes iffy on new veggie recipes. Doubled the radish greens (2 bunches and 4 potatoes) but kept rest of recipe proportions the same. Used regular full fat yougurt, as didn't have cream on hand. Added a tablespoon of curry and teaspoon of black pepper for an extra bit of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I had some nice fresh radish tops from my first garden and searched for a recipe to try. What a surprise! VERY nice. Thank you for sharing this recipe. UPDATE (4/2011): This years first radish harvest inspired me to make this soup again. This time I added some chopped radish to the onion when I sauted them. I also added some swiss chard, which was also ready from the garden. I used margoram as an herb. It was WoNDeRFuL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Surprisingly good! I made significant changes to the recipe to use up some leftover mashed potatoes and gravy, and the end result was very tasty. I used 3 cups of mashed potatoes, 1 cup of brown gravy, and 3 cups water instead of the potatoes and chicken broth. I also added 4 cloves of garlic and substituted half & half for the heavy cream. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I thought this was a great surprise! Creamy with a hint of something different. And yes, green! Now, what to do with all the radishes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Me and my food class group made this for an assignment. Overall the product was good, but it did not look appetizing. Most people in my class wouldn't even try it! The texture was a little weird but at least you could really taste the chicken flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly except for two things: I only let it simmer for 20 minutes, instead of 30 (I was short on time) and I didn't have any heavy cream on hand so I used 1/2 cup of raw whole milk, which has high cream content, so it worked well. You could probably cut the cream out if you wanted to cut some calories, but the milk did make it a bit creamier. I'll never throw my radish tops out again! This is now one of my husband's favorite soups - mine, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States