Radish Top Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I made a veggie/lactose-free version, using olive oil and ghee instead of butter, and I used spring onions and a sweet potato rather than a regular onion and potatoes. I also added some fresh herbs as another reviewer suggested. Finally, I used three cups of vegetable broth instead of four. No cream needed. Thanks to the other reviewers for their tips and suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
WOW! I am shocked that something called "Radish Top Soup" could be so delightful! Even more shocking...my four year old LOVED it! I didn't have a fresh onion so I used a combination of dried minced onion and chopped green onions. I also added garlic, black pepper, and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
The spicy bitterness of the radish tops plays very nicely against the creamy potato soup. I've used arugula in place of radish tops when that was available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
2 little boys slurped it up! will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
LOVED this! The radishes in our garden had rather gotten away from us -- more leaves than roots, so I went looking for "tops" recipes (I knew they had to be edible somehow!) and I found this! I subbed bacon fat for the butter but skipped the heavy cream, and subbed homemade turkey broth for the chicken broth. I also cooked the onions past "tender" because carmelized onions make everything better, IMHO. I used a couple of larger potatoes and I didn't bother to measure the greens; I just threw in everything I had. I also skipped the radish garnish -- the leaves were older and huge, and the roots were inedible. I pureed half for me and left the other half chunky for DH and we both liked it. He added salt; I did not. Might add cheese next time; might add pepper. Or not! Either way, this recipe is now in our "garden rotation." Thanks so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This tastes sooooo good and sooooo healthy. I didn't add the cream at all. It doesn't need it. I did add just a bit of salt while it was simmering (probably just less than a tsp, just to bring out the flavor). I highly recommend this recipe and I also highly recommend tasting it after putting it thru the blender. I don't think you'll want any cream either. I will make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
amazing recipe. never thought to use the greens, and my husband thought i was crazy when i told him what i made the soup out of. He loved it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This is a great soup! It freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
An excellent, easy soup that I will definitely be cooking whenever I have radish greens on hand! I'm lactose intolerant, so I sauteed onions in safflower oil and used a little plain soy milk at the end. I also skipped blending because I don't particularly like blended soups, and found out after starting that I didn't have chicken broth . . . so I added a little thyme, then realized that my drumsticks in the oven produced a lot of juice while cooking and added that in - which included the juices of a pineapple sage and garlic marinade. This is absolutely going to become my go-to recipe for using radish greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
WOW!!! Wasn't sure what to expect and this was wonderful! Even my uber-picky husband likes it!! Followed recipe to a tee, just added garlic and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy Yorke Whitenect

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States