Radish Top Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Made the recipe as written, using only the most tender radish tops from the last of my spring radishes so it wouldn't be bitter. Also I didn't have chicken broth so used veggie broth instead and added sprigs of sage, thyme and rosemary for a little flavor punch as the soup was cooking. The cream really makes the dish silky, my other choice would have been to use evap. milk, but not being afraid of a little cream I went for the indulgence. I will keep this recipe as one of my spring dishes! Reminds me of a fresh pea soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
This is a very tasty soup that my whole family enjoyed. It was a little thin but that is probably because a medium potato to me might be smaller than the original creator of this recipe had in mind. Adding a clove of garlic, and some basil and tarragon gave it a nice aroma and flavor. I would never have thought to use radish greens, but I am a convert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doc Simonson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I made a veggie/lactose-free version, using olive oil and ghee instead of butter, and I used spring onions and a sweet potato rather than a regular onion and potatoes. I also added some fresh herbs as another reviewer suggested. Finally, I used three cups of vegetable broth instead of four. No cream needed. Thanks to the other reviewers for their tips and suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
WOW! I am shocked that something called "Radish Top Soup" could be so delightful! Even more shocking...my four year old LOVED it! I didn't have a fresh onion so I used a combination of dried minced onion and chopped green onions. I also added garlic, black pepper, and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
The spicy bitterness of the radish tops plays very nicely against the creamy potato soup. I've used arugula in place of radish tops when that was available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
2 little boys slurped it up! will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
LOVED this! The radishes in our garden had rather gotten away from us -- more leaves than roots, so I went looking for "tops" recipes (I knew they had to be edible somehow!) and I found this! I subbed bacon fat for the butter but skipped the heavy cream, and subbed homemade turkey broth for the chicken broth. I also cooked the onions past "tender" because carmelized onions make everything better, IMHO. I used a couple of larger potatoes and I didn't bother to measure the greens; I just threw in everything I had. I also skipped the radish garnish -- the leaves were older and huge, and the roots were inedible. I pureed half for me and left the other half chunky for DH and we both liked it. He added salt; I did not. Might add cheese next time; might add pepper. Or not! Either way, this recipe is now in our "garden rotation." Thanks so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This tastes sooooo good and sooooo healthy. I didn't add the cream at all. It doesn't need it. I did add just a bit of salt while it was simmering (probably just less than a tsp, just to bring out the flavor). I highly recommend this recipe and I also highly recommend tasting it after putting it thru the blender. I don't think you'll want any cream either. I will make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
amazing recipe. never thought to use the greens, and my husband thought i was crazy when i told him what i made the soup out of. He loved it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This is a great soup! It freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States