Rach's Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This was delicious! It was the favorite dish at my family's Thanksgiving! I did change a few things though. I only used one egg, extra cheese, and extra Ritz crackers to mix into the casserole as well as top. I did this because I had read in previous reviews that it was runny. I also used two, large, fresh broccoli crowns instead of frozen. It was so delicious and not runny at all! EVERYONE raved about it and it was the only dish that was completely gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This is a wonderful way to turn healthy veggies into a naughty treat! Love this recipe and had to control myself from eating half of it for dinner! I did change it up a bit. I used 2 16oz packages of broccoli & cauliflower blend since that is what I had on hand. I used cream of celery soup since I don't like cream of mushroom and I also omitted the onion since I don't like onion. I forgot to add the eggs, but it didn't need them. I made this years ago for a holiday dinner and everyone loved it. I would definately eat this over green bean casserole! ** I made this a second time as the recipe stated and I would definately suggest leaving out the eggs! It had a weird scrambled egg consistency and I much preferred the casserole without the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I made this last night following the recipe exactly except I used fresh broccoli; my husband and I both loved the flavor but it was a bit too juicy. Next time, I'll add some bread crumbs to the mixture to soak up some of the wet ingredients and possibly some cooked chicken or turkey to make a one-dish meal. Very tasty dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I left out the eggs based on the other reviews and it was what I was aiming for. The onion was still kind of crunchy so next time I would pre-cook that before throwing everything together. We prefer our veggies a little softer, so I might cook it longer or find another method to soften them up first before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VILAINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Love it! It has been a family and church favorite for quite some time and have the recipe memorized I make is so much! The only thing I change is omiting the butter, don't think it really needs it with the cheese. Even people that don't like broccoli eat this!! Also, I cook the brocolli and drain when I mix with all the ingredients and it always turns out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stacy Rae
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
This recipe was really easy to throw together with ingredients that I already had on hand. It was very creamy and tasted great. I loved the Ritz on top - gave it a nice crust. I made a 9 x 13 pan, but if you had a smaller crowd, you could easily split into two 8 x 8 pans and freeze one for a later time. My toddler coulnd't get enough of this great casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Following advice from other reviewers, I used 1 egg instead of 2, 5 tablespoons of butter instead of 8, and added extra cheese (about 1 1/2 cups instead of 1). I crushed up one sleeve of Ritz crackers, mixed about 1/4 cup into the casserole (to thicken as others said it can be a bit soupy), and spread the remaining ~3/4 cup over the top. I used a 9x13 casserole dish and cooked it for 40 minutes at 350 (to soften the onions - they were still a little crunchy after 30 minutes). It was delicious and it got great reviews from my family (young and old)!! I think I will try this again as the recipe is written (only 1/2 stick of butter though - 1 just seems like too much!) - will update my review if I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This was great!!! I would suggest do not add the butter. I thought, well I will put 1/4 cup and am now regretting it because after reheating it gets greasy. I can't imagine 1/2 cup. Also I pretty well followed the recipe with some of the added suggestions and it turned out nice. Instead of the Ritz on top I mixed in with the casserole and added French's Fried Onions and extra cheese in the last 10-15 minutes of baking. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
We found this dish too moist for our taste. We did like the crackers on top. I will try the recipie again, however, I will adjust the wet ingredients and I will use fresh chopped boccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pthor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Very good! It probably only needs 1 egg instead of two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli Casserole

This easy casserole may become a staple at your holiday table.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States