Rachel's Wasabi Cocktail Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
We love wasabi and this was a great recipe for some kicked-up cocktail sauce with a bit more heat and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Absolutely awesome! I usually make my own cocktail with ketchup and horseradish, but the wasabi in this is going to go great with the Asain inspired dinner I am serving. I, too, doubled the wasabi and even added a bit of regular horseradish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Hello, I cut down the recipe just for a lb. of shrimp..I think it is GREAT! You can add or delete the Wasabi..and since it comes in dry form..You can always have it on hand. No need to go spend money at the store! Thank you Rachel ! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Great cocktail sauce, I like it with twice the amount of wasabi as well. It gives it some kick, but not too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
pretty good! I doubled the wasabi and added a tablespoon of mayo for some creaminess. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I added a dash of Worchestershire sauce and doubled the wasabi. Yowzer! I finally found THE best cocktail sauce ever! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by echomoon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cando, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2006
this recipe was great! I was in a pinch tonight serving a shrimp ring and didn't relize till the last minute that I didn't have sauce. I used all the ingredients, but just did the measurements from feel and every one loved it. Thanks Rachel you saved my backside!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Best cocktail sauce I've ever had! I quadrupled the wasabi because my boyfriend and I are big fans of it. I also added another teaspoon of brown sugar to dampen the "ketchup" taste. A note of caution on the wasabi: I made it immediately before adding it to the recipe, and I noticed that it had a lot more heat after sitting for a few minutes. We still enjoyed it, but if I made this for someone else, I would take it down a couple notches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I was craving some shrimp cocktail but I did not have the horseradish and other ingredients I needed for the traditional sauce and I was not going to the store. I found this easy recipe and I had all 4 ingredients. This was a delicious sauce and it is much simpler to make. I added more wasabi cause I like a good kick. I will definitly be using this for my sauce recipe from now on. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Just wanted to update-I served this with beer-boiled shrimp to a group of "Potter-heads" for a Harry Potter party, and it was the first thing consumed! Just a superb recipe, Rachel--I would not change one thing about it. 7/11/07: Served this on a block of creme cheese with crackers at my 4th of July party--was a big hit. Used lime juice. Perfect just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilcupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States