Rachel's Wasabi Cocktail Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
just a hint Here is the sauce I use and it does not use ketchup: 1 1/2 tablespoons wasabi powder 2tablespoons mayonnaise 2 tablespoons sour cream 3 tablespoons Dijon mustard 1/2 tablespoon Tabasco sauce (or to taste) 1 green onion, white and part of green,finely minced salt and pepper Growing up in New England and having seafood and seafood sauces my whole life, I did not much like this sauce. I was a bit hesitant to use ketchup anyway, to me ketchup is cheap and not worthy of good seafood. Personal opinion, but sorry, I did not like this. Will not attempt again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boonesdaddy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
Too sweet and not enough wasabi. Have had much better recipes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This is very much like Super Al's Cocktail Sauce from this website (which we LOVE) except for the wasabi instead of horseradish. We upped the wasabi for a little more bite and it was a perfect balance with the sweetness. Keep cookin', Rachel! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
My first time using wasabi, and I found out that I love it! The recipe is perfect as is, but after mixing up the sauce, I tripled the wasabi! I will make a double batch of this for a family party this weekend when I make a crab dip. Thanks for sharing, Rachel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
This is a "great recipe" especially when using real wasabi rhizome (not the standard coloured horseradish). Once you've tried it and have the flavour experience of your life, you wont ever compromise again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Just wanted to update-I served this with beer-boiled shrimp to a group of "Potter-heads" for a Harry Potter party, and it was the first thing consumed! Just a superb recipe, Rachel--I would not change one thing about it. 7/11/07: Served this on a block of creme cheese with crackers at my 4th of July party--was a big hit. Used lime juice. Perfect just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilcupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Absolutely awesome! I usually make my own cocktail with ketchup and horseradish, but the wasabi in this is going to go great with the Asain inspired dinner I am serving. I, too, doubled the wasabi and even added a bit of regular horseradish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I doubled the wasabi as suggested by the submitter. Great kick; great flavor. Had it with a dinner of Asian Orange Chicken and Asian Coconut Rice, both from Allrecipes. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I was craving some shrimp cocktail but I did not have the horseradish and other ingredients I needed for the traditional sauce and I was not going to the store. I found this easy recipe and I had all 4 ingredients. This was a delicious sauce and it is much simpler to make. I added more wasabi cause I like a good kick. I will definitly be using this for my sauce recipe from now on. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Best cocktail sauce I've ever had! I quadrupled the wasabi because my boyfriend and I are big fans of it. I also added another teaspoon of brown sugar to dampen the "ketchup" taste. A note of caution on the wasabi: I made it immediately before adding it to the recipe, and I noticed that it had a lot more heat after sitting for a few minutes. We still enjoyed it, but if I made this for someone else, I would take it down a couple notches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States