Rachel's Wasabi Cocktail Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I liked this with one change, I did not have wasabi paste so I used horseradish, instead of the 1/8 tsp we put 1/4 tsp of horseradish and that made it perfect for us. Good with fried shrimp but I would mix a little mayonnaise in it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This is very much like Super Al's Cocktail Sauce from this website (which we LOVE) except for the wasabi instead of horseradish. We upped the wasabi for a little more bite and it was a perfect balance with the sweetness. Keep cookin', Rachel! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
Didn't "WOW" me. Felt it was a bit too sweet. Perhaps cutting back on the sugar would help.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I doubled the wasabi as suggested by the submitter. Great kick; great flavor. Had it with a dinner of Asian Orange Chicken and Asian Coconut Rice, both from Allrecipes. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Just wanted to update-I served this with beer-boiled shrimp to a group of "Potter-heads" for a Harry Potter party, and it was the first thing consumed! Just a superb recipe, Rachel--I would not change one thing about it. 7/11/07: Served this on a block of creme cheese with crackers at my 4th of July party--was a big hit. Used lime juice. Perfect just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilcupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
Too sweet and not enough wasabi. Have had much better recipes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I was craving some shrimp cocktail but I did not have the horseradish and other ingredients I needed for the traditional sauce and I was not going to the store. I found this easy recipe and I had all 4 ingredients. This was a delicious sauce and it is much simpler to make. I added more wasabi cause I like a good kick. I will definitly be using this for my sauce recipe from now on. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Best cocktail sauce I've ever had! I quadrupled the wasabi because my boyfriend and I are big fans of it. I also added another teaspoon of brown sugar to dampen the "ketchup" taste. A note of caution on the wasabi: I made it immediately before adding it to the recipe, and I noticed that it had a lot more heat after sitting for a few minutes. We still enjoyed it, but if I made this for someone else, I would take it down a couple notches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Absolutely awesome! I usually make my own cocktail with ketchup and horseradish, but the wasabi in this is going to go great with the Asain inspired dinner I am serving. I, too, doubled the wasabi and even added a bit of regular horseradish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
This is a "great recipe" especially when using real wasabi rhizome (not the standard coloured horseradish). Once you've tried it and have the flavour experience of your life, you wont ever compromise again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States