Rachel's Wasabi Cocktail Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
It had a weird taste and was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Boyfriend and I couldn't figure out what was exactly wrong with this... it needs something. The flavor was just not good, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
THis was my first time using Wasabi like Grannyloohoo and we really enjoyed this!! I doubled the wasabi and left everything else the same. Thank you Rachel, this is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
I really didn't care much for the sauce. It was too sweet for me and my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I really liked the idea of using wasabi instead of horseradish in a cocktail sauce, but the brown sugar was a mistake. Ketchup is sweet enough as it is. In my opinion, this sauce lacked depth. I'll try the wasabi in my usual recipe which includes garlic, Tabasco and chili powder as well as lemon juice. Sorry I didn't like the sauce, but thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
just a hint Here is the sauce I use and it does not use ketchup: 1 1/2 tablespoons wasabi powder 2tablespoons mayonnaise 2 tablespoons sour cream 3 tablespoons Dijon mustard 1/2 tablespoon Tabasco sauce (or to taste) 1 green onion, white and part of green,finely minced salt and pepper Growing up in New England and having seafood and seafood sauces my whole life, I did not much like this sauce. I was a bit hesitant to use ketchup anyway, to me ketchup is cheap and not worthy of good seafood. Personal opinion, but sorry, I did not like this. Will not attempt again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boonesdaddy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
This sauce is hard for me to rate. I did not like the taste of it, even after adding more wasabi. The wasabi and the sweetness from the catsup & sugar were in conflict. Sorry, it wasn't for us, though my niece thought it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I found this WAY too sweet as is. Quite a bit less brown sugar and more wasabi (or horse radish) will improve this a LOT. Unless you are a fan of overly sweet shrimp sauce I would find another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats his face

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Positively amazing cocktail sauce. Following reviewer ktardi’s lead, we used fresh wasabi rhizomes. By all means include the brown sugar; it mellows the tang of tomato ketchup. Our clients gushed over this sauce, which will in future be a staple on our menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma SJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Luton, Bedfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
My first time using wasabi, and I found out that I love it! The recipe is perfect as is, but after mixing up the sauce, I tripled the wasabi! I will make a double batch of this for a family party this weekend when I make a crab dip. Thanks for sharing, Rachel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States