Rachel's Turkey Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I used this recipe as a base. I didn't use the onion soup mix or the tomato soup(way too much sodium), but I added fresh yellow onions, plenty of celery, lots of garlic powder and basil. I used extra ketchup and bbq sauce since I didn't use the tomato soup. Instead of Worshirshire sauce I used balsamic vinegar for a good zing...and added chopped garlic to the sauce as well. As another reviewer suggested, I used wheat germ instead of bread crumbs (now I think I will do that w/ every recipe that calls for bread crumbs for the health benefits!). Everyone liked this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
This was very easy to make as any meatloaf is. I chopped the mushrooms very fine in a food processor, my finicky family never even knew they were in there, they also had no idea it was Turkey. Very moist and very flavorful. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I have made this a number of times and everyone in my family likes it. I'd never really liked meatloaf until I made it with this recipe. I've made it both with and without the mushrooms, either way has been fine. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I used this as a base because my husband is diabetic & has high blood pressure. I hide veggies in everything that I make, so I processed onion, celery, bell pepper together then added the mushrooms for just a bit. I make my own whole wheat bread crumbs & used onion powder for the soup mix. Added cayenne, cumin & garlic powder for spice. Mixed it all in my KA mixer. Used A-1 on top because ketchup & bbq sauce are high in sugar. Kids ate it with ketchup on top, the whole family raved about it. It was moist & delish! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
My husband and I found this a bit mushy. Maybe because of the bread crumbs when we are used to broken up pieces bread. Overall, easy to make and pretty good flavor. Liked the BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This is wonderful, best meatloaf I have ever had. I did change the recipe just a little due mainly to what I had on hand. Instead of using the seasoned breadcrumbs I used a cup and a half of cooked white rice. Also I did not have the tomato soup so I used a can of no salt tomato sauce. Using the rice instead of breadcrumbs made it a little harder to handle so I just put the mixture in the pan and then shaped the loaf. I made the sauce for the top just as stated but with the tomato sauce and I added Parmesan shaker cheese to the tomato sauce. This helps thicken the tomato sauce and adds a little zing. Thanks for sharing as this is really great. muzz2005
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview Park, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This was so good! I have tried plenty of meatloaf recipes, and this one is a keeper! I followed the recipe exactly, and will do the same next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Awesome. We doubled the sauce for dipping :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This was my first time making Turkey Meatloaf and it was great! I also added 1/2 cup each of finely chopped onions and green bell pepper. My family loved it and i plan to make this meatloaf again. Thank you so much for this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arlene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I will never make this again I will go for my old stand by..... that we all like..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States