Rachel's Turkey Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I prepared as outlined without modifications. It was my first time making a meatloaf and it was amazing. My boyfriend typically eats red meat and he loved it - think it was the addition of the bbq sauce. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This meatloaf is really good! My (normally picky) kids even loved it! I didn't use fresh mushrooms or tomato soup. It came our really tasty and moist. Will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLITALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oceanport, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This was awesome. I added some more veggies than suggested, as well as a little garlic and it came out amazing. It seems a little mushy, but don't be discouraged. It requires a little more time to cook, but it turns out so moist, and if you add more bread or bread crumbs, it really hikes up its modest calorie count. Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rdsxlolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
When my daughter was small (she's 30 now) I was cooking some ground turkey and she came into the kitchen and asked me what I was cooking because it smelled like Joey (Joey was the dog). I've never cooked ground turkey since. Instead, whenever a recipe calls for it, I substutute ground chicken breast which I did here as well. I used 8 oz of chopped mushrooms and sauted them before adding them to the meat mixture. I also didn't have any Italian seasoned breadcrumbs, so I used Panko instead. I also added a bit of sriracha to the meat mixture and to the glaze along with a bit of ground coriander (to the glaze only). This came out great! Nice and firm and not mushy at all. I think the next time I make it, I will leave out the barbeque sauce because we thought it kind of overpowered the other flavors and use some mustard and brown sugar in its place. Thank you for the recipe, RACHELLUARK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
taste was ok, texture not so much. VERY mushy, will stick with beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This stuff has really improved my view on turkeyloaf! My mom used to make this...stuff...that was basically a big ball of turkey...YUCK! so i convinced her to use this recipe, and my family was verrrry thankful! I thought the texture was just a wee bit...weird...coulda' just been the turkey...but yeah, EVERYBODY in my family loves it! it's their favorite meatloaf recipe now. I didn't have the onion soup mix so i added a bunch of finely minced onions. I also added garlic powder and basil. And i think next time i'll cut the stuff on top in half...it's a little bit to much barbque-y stuff. Rachel, thank you EVERsomuch for posting this! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nomes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
It had too much of a barbeque taste and waaaay too much bread crumbs. I feel like 1/2 to 3/4 cup is enough. I'll give it a try again with modifications, but not one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Awesome. We doubled the sauce for dipping :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This is wonderful, best meatloaf I have ever had. I did change the recipe just a little due mainly to what I had on hand. Instead of using the seasoned breadcrumbs I used a cup and a half of cooked white rice. Also I did not have the tomato soup so I used a can of no salt tomato sauce. Using the rice instead of breadcrumbs made it a little harder to handle so I just put the mixture in the pan and then shaped the loaf. I made the sauce for the top just as stated but with the tomato sauce and I added Parmesan shaker cheese to the tomato sauce. This helps thicken the tomato sauce and adds a little zing. Thanks for sharing as this is really great. muzz2005
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview Park, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I'm fairly new to making meat loaf cause I always hated my moms. Anyway, I thought this had a really great flavor. I did change a few things. I had some left over crushed tomatos so I substituted those for the soup. I also added about 2 tablespoons of green onions and about a third of a yellow bell pepper for color. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States