Rachel's Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This is so good and so easy! I didn't change a thing, but did sprinkle some Parmesan on top for a little extra yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
The recipe need salt, but other than that, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Just made this soup this afternoon. It was the best tomato soup I've ever made. I added a bit of sugar because of my tomatoes being a bit on the acid side, but otherwise followed the recipe to a t. If you're going to switch up a recipe, please submit your own. It always makes me laugh when people add this or that and then rate a recipe. This is perfect on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I made a few changes. I cooked diced onion (about half a small onion) with a clove of garlic in 1 T. of butter. Then I added the other ingredients as the recipe called for, but I also added a can of petite diced tomatoes to make it chunky. As other reviewers suggested, I added in about 1 T. of brown sugar, maybe a pinch more. I only added 1/2 c. of Half-and-Half (no butter). My extremely picky husband said it was "restaurant quality". A real win for a wife who doesn't cook (only bakes)! And I served it with grilled cheese sandwiches I made (sauteed some broccoli with sesame oil and salt; spread cream cheese on bread, add feta and mozzarella and the broccoli; broil 'til cheese melts). Perfect Sunday lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This recipe was delicious!! My first instinct was to doctor it up with other spices but I decided to make it exactly as written (except I totally forgot the butter at the end). I thought to myself, "how could something this simple and easy be so good?" Even without the butter this recipe was great and it will surely become one of my regular meals. I started by putting the basil leaves and crushed tomatoes in the blender on purée for a few minutes. My picky husband has an issue with textures so I had to make sure it was super smooth. I usually use an immersion blender for hot soups because the steam can pop the lid off my blender but I don't get all of the chunks out with the immersion blender so I puréed it before cooking it. I love that this recipe uses crushed tomatoes because peeling/cutting fresh tomatoes is too time consuming and are not cost effective unless you have tomatoes in your garden. I've made tomato soup with fresh tomatoes before and I honestly didn't miss them with this soup. To prevent the cream from curdling I heated it up before I put it into my lightly simmering soup (I've learned this lesson through past fails!). I served it with freshly grated asiago cheese and garlic Romano croutons. My family loved it, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallory825

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Swansboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This was my first attempt at tomato basil soup. So I followed the recipe and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weedsport, New York, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This is the best tomato soup I've ever made. Never been a big soup person but this is really good. A great way to use up the fresh basil from the garden. Just right with a grilled cheese sandwich. The only thing I changed was adding a tsp of sugar. Just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I only boiled it 20 minutes. Turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen S.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
We enjoyed this quite a bit. I didn't add anything other than what the recipe called for. However, I did use half and half in place of the heavy cream. My family did not find it lacking in any flavor and the kids really liked dipping their grilled cheese in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States