Rachel's Sugar Plum Spice Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I’m so glad I tried this recipe! True to the description, the simmering jam had my kitchen smelling like Christmas. It tastes wonderful and has set up nicely after about 12 hours. Do take the time to read the instructions for “cooked jam” that come with the powdered pectin. It’s important to measure out the sugar ahead of time as it needs to be added all at once. Also, if you live above 1,000 feet above sea level, you will need to increase the processing time by 5 minutes (I processed mine for 15 minutes because of this). Processing time increases again at 3,000 ft. Check the guidelines to be sure your jars are processed correctly. I couldn’t find 12 oz jelly jars, so I went with the 8 oz ones. I expected to get 15 jars, but only got 12. Still, this is a five-star recipe. I can’t wait to include this jam in Christmas gift baskets! Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Excellent! Just delicious on baked chicken. I want to try it on pork chops next. We don't like anything too sweet so I cut the pineapple amount in half and increased the plums to 14 to make up for it, then cut the sugar to 6 cups. I used the juice of 1 fresh orange, which was just the right amount. I plan to give jars as gifts because I think it's so good. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
absolutely delightful! This jam not only smells like Christmas but it tastes like it too. I did vary a bit by using what I had on hand. I used 2 c. canned crushed pineapple and it's juice the rest I followed as written. Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
While I'm not a fan of fresh plums (too perfume-y), I tend to like plum chutneys & after reading reviews, decided to give this a try. I'm SO glad that I did! I like cloves & all spice and made this EXACTLY as written. While my 1st batch did not come out as jellied as I thought it might, it is absolutely delicious and does indeed have holiday spice undertones. I plan on using this on baked pork loin, hams & as a dollop in my baked scones, however, I've already been using this for wraps. I take smoked turkey, swiss cheese (or havarti if I have it) lettuce & use this as the condiment on a wrap. I've also used it on wraps with Black Forest Ham. It turns an ordinary lunch into something heavenly and EVERYONE that has tried it, RAVED about how good this is. This is one of the easier jams I've made and truly, one of my favorite recipes here at Allrecipes. This one is a keeper &, of course, you can adjust the spices to your taste. It's beautiful to look at, the aroma is magnificent and the taste is sweet, spicy and reminiscent of Grandma's kitchen at Christmas. Thank you, Rachel for a brilliant contribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pathos57

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
The Jam turned out great! Very sweet. I think it would go well with chicken or pork. The taste reminds me of Spiced Tea Mix that you sometimes get at the holidays. Overall, a good recipe worth sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This came out beautifully. Set up perfect, and tastes so good. Perfect jam for the holidays. Will be included in my christmas gift baskets this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Too much clove for me, but otherwise I like the texture and the full fruit flavors - the plum, pineapple and orange are a nice combo. I substituted 2 cups crushed w/juice for the fresh pineapple as suggested by another & it worked very well. Definitely will cut the clove next time to maybe 1/4 tsp and add 1/4 tsp cinnamon. As is, I will have to use it strictly as a glaze for maybe hams, or pork loin, or ....? I'll try it on a variety of meats & label it as a glaze. For me this yeilded 12 8 oz jars. That's a lot of glaze .... wish it had turned out tastier as jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
It doesn't set very thick, but the flavor is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
WAY too much clove for my tastes. I would consider making it again with only 1/2 tsp of clove. The flavors of the fruit get lost with all the clove it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Fabulous! I made this with my daughter and it was amazing. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States