Rachel's Sugar Plum Spice Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Fabulous! I made this with my daughter and it was amazing. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Wonderful stuff! Easy to make. Fills the entire house with the magical smells of Christmas while it's cooking. Perfect for Christmas gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Oh my, it really does smell like Christmas in my kitchen right now! Just about done with the recipe and I can already tell that it is going to thicken up nicely, even without the packet of pectin. Just kept it at a low boil until it reached 220 degrees. Can't wait to hand this out as gifts this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
WAY too much clove for my tastes. I would consider making it again with only 1/2 tsp of clove. The flavors of the fruit get lost with all the clove it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This was the first jam I ever made and I really like it. I gave it away for Christmas gifts. I just had some on crackers with cream cheese and it was amazing! I added sugar to taste and it still set up just fine. I used quite a bit less than the recipe called for. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
While I'm not a fan of fresh plums (too perfume-y), I tend to like plum chutneys & after reading reviews, decided to give this a try. I'm SO glad that I did! I like cloves & all spice and made this EXACTLY as written. While my 1st batch did not come out as jellied as I thought it might, it is absolutely delicious and does indeed have holiday spice undertones. I plan on using this on baked pork loin, hams & as a dollop in my baked scones, however, I've already been using this for wraps. I take smoked turkey, swiss cheese (or havarti if I have it) lettuce & use this as the condiment on a wrap. I've also used it on wraps with Black Forest Ham. It turns an ordinary lunch into something heavenly and EVERYONE that has tried it, RAVED about how good this is. This is one of the easier jams I've made and truly, one of my favorite recipes here at Allrecipes. This one is a keeper &, of course, you can adjust the spices to your taste. It's beautiful to look at, the aroma is magnificent and the taste is sweet, spicy and reminiscent of Grandma's kitchen at Christmas. Thank you, Rachel for a brilliant contribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pathos57

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Too much clove for me, but otherwise I like the texture and the full fruit flavors - the plum, pineapple and orange are a nice combo. I substituted 2 cups crushed w/juice for the fresh pineapple as suggested by another & it worked very well. Definitely will cut the clove next time to maybe 1/4 tsp and add 1/4 tsp cinnamon. As is, I will have to use it strictly as a glaze for maybe hams, or pork loin, or ....? I'll try it on a variety of meats & label it as a glaze. For me this yeilded 12 8 oz jars. That's a lot of glaze .... wish it had turned out tastier as jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Excellent! Just delicious on baked chicken. I want to try it on pork chops next. We don't like anything too sweet so I cut the pineapple amount in half and increased the plums to 14 to make up for it, then cut the sugar to 6 cups. I used the juice of 1 fresh orange, which was just the right amount. I plan to give jars as gifts because I think it's so good. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
The Jam turned out great! Very sweet. I think it would go well with chicken or pork. The taste reminds me of Spiced Tea Mix that you sometimes get at the holidays. Overall, a good recipe worth sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States