Rachel's Cranberry Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
DH was asking if I could make a cranberry chicken salad so I thought I'd give this a go. We like "real" chicken so I boiled fresh chicken and found the salad to be quite dry. Other reviews used canned chicken which is probably why they did not run into a dryness issue. I began adding more mayo and lime juice but was then afraid the mayonnaise would drown out the lovely fruit so I added a splash of whipping cream and it was perfect, just what DH wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
"Rachel's Cranberry Chicken Salad" is quite delicious. I made it for a picnic for my girlfriend's birthday based on rave reviews on THEBUZZ. I served it in Boston lettuce as "lettuce wraps." Next time I make it I will cut my apple-juice-sweetened cranberries by half as they were a bit sweet for my sugar-free palate, and also use fresh dill. I am sure my mother will love this. Thank you Rachel for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I love this recipe and my family too. I only added jalapeño peppers to give it a kick and instead of dill I added thyme and cilantro. I mixed the herbs and spices with the mayo and then mixed it with the hard ingredients. Delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Almestica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Made this exactly as recipe was written and it's excellent. Thank you for sharing! Will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I made the recipe as written, then let it chill very thoroughly before eating. Hubby had his on toasted burger buns with a little bit of extra mayo, to enjoy the contrast between hot and cold. It's delicious any way you serve it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Stop reading now if you're offended by folks who change a recipe and then rate it.... I left out the cranberries simply because I had seedless red grapes I wanted to use up instead. I used fresh dill (again, had to use it up), a whole Jazz red apple instead of 1/4 of a green one, added minced celery, substituted almonds for the walnuts - and my husband said he thought it tasted like the chicken salad at Panera! Pretty high praise, I think. I didn't measure the green onion, and wish I had put in more, but other than that - wonderful recipe that lends itself to being 'customized' to whatever you have on hand! I'm eating the leftovers as I type this at midnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I used a whole chicken that I inadvertently overcooked (ALWAYS set the timer). I used tarragon instead of dill, celery instead of onions, and sunflower seeds instead of pecans (as those were the ingredients I had). I did use the lime juice and thought it added a wonderful component to the dish. Rave reviews from all who tried it, so I will probably continue making it this way. If I hadn’t found this recipe, I would have never thought to put dried cranberries in chicken salad – simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This has become my go-to chicken salad. I love all the flavors. I use cashews instead of pecans just because I'm not much of a fan. It's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
OMGoodness, this salad is awesome. Thank You for sharing! DQ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I have been searching for the ultimate chicken salad recipe & THIS is it! I didn't have green onions (used red) but will next time for sure. Didn't use nearly all the mayo this calls for, but that's just a personal preference. Hubs & I loved this; afterwards I realized I'd forgotten the lime juice. Ack! Can't wait to try in again & make it ALL according to the recipe. Thank you Rachel for the perfect blend of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robinsky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle Fourche, South Dakota, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States