Rachel's Cranberry Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Fruity and Fabulous! This is a great chicken salad and a great way to use up some leftover grilled chicken that I hand on hand. I LOVE dried cranberries so this chicken salad was right up my alley. I chopped up the chicken and opted to used celery in place of the green onions. I also chopped up a Red Delicious apple vs. shredding it. I mixed the dressing in a separate bowl before folding it into the chicken and other ingredients. For the dressing I used Hellman's light mayo and cut it with a bit of reduced fat sour cream I also used curry powder vs. dill. I'm a huge fan of dill, but for this salad I felt the curry powder just paired better. I let this set in the fridge for a few hours, after sneaking a few bits and WOW, what a wonderful combination of flavors! This was so good on whole grain bread. Thanks Rachel for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Made this today, it was DELICIOUS. I used red onion instead on green. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This was great but I did change a lot, I didn't use apples or lemon juice, I used walnuts, bacon, celery, and no onion. I served it on a good bread and it was wonderful, perfect for summer. Loved the dill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
FANTASTIC! What a terrific way to use left over chicken. I didn't measure a thing because I didn't feel it was necessary. My changes were to skip the green onion, used red apple for green apple, and almond slices for pecans. That's because it was what I had on hand. I love the way the dried cranberries add a sweetness and the nuts add the crunch. Such a FANTASTIC easy recipe. Thank you for sharing Rachel! You made my day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Very tasty and satisfying dish. I think I will double the recipe next time so we have more left-overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Excellent! This is my favorite chicken salad recipe. Easy to put together, fresh and flavorful. The dill adds the perfect touch. Rotisserie chicken works well in this recipe, too and is a great timesaver. I make this a lot for light suppers during the summer. Thanks, Rachel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I gave this recipe to one of in-house corporate cafe employees. She made 20 sandwiches ahead of time and they all went in less than an hour! By the time I got there, they were gone. She has requests from all over the building to put that on the menu again! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Very good! I made this for a picnic lunch we had at a winery - goes well with a nice cool, crisp white wine. The pecans and dried cranberries add interesting flavors. I made it the night before and it was definitely better after the flavors blended together. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Absolutely my favorite chicken salad. I've used cranberries, cherries, even currents.... people rave about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meehlticket

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I didn't have green onions or dried dill weed, however, I added vidalia onion vinaigrette in place of the mayo and it turned out fabulous! I loved the dried cranberries in there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States