Rachel's Cranberry Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This recipe was fantastic! My husband and I agreed that this was the best chicken salad we have ever had. I made a few minor adjustments... I purchased a BBQ rotisserie chicken from Wegmans (easy and only 4.99) which added extra flavor, also I used glazed pecans instead of plain which also added flavor. On nice thick Tuscan bread this is a fabulous lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
8/2014 used slivered almonds toasted in a clean frying pan instead of pecans, used celery instead of apple and onion. doubled the dressing and used half lime and half lemon. cranberries were great for sweetness and almonds and celery were great for crunch. good on soft whole grain bread. ally liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I made this for a ladies luncheon at church. Kept to the recipe exactly except I tripled the recipe. (Used a prepared chicken from Sam's) Instead of taking it in a bowl, I used a cookie scoop and placed a scoop of the salad in mini cupcake papers and placed on a tray. So pretty to display them that way and since there was so much other food there, this was a perfect amount for each lady. Thanks for a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
DH was asking if I could make a cranberry chicken salad so I thought I'd give this a go. We like "real" chicken so I boiled fresh chicken and found the salad to be quite dry. Other reviews used canned chicken which is probably why they did not run into a dryness issue. I began adding more mayo and lime juice but was then afraid the mayonnaise would drown out the lovely fruit so I added a splash of whipping cream and it was perfect, just what DH wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I love this recipe and my family too. I only added jalapeño peppers to give it a kick and instead of dill I added thyme and cilantro. I mixed the herbs and spices with the mayo and then mixed it with the hard ingredients. Delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Almestica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Made this exactly as recipe was written and it's excellent. Thank you for sharing! Will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Sienko

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I made the recipe as written, then let it chill very thoroughly before eating. Hubby had his on toasted burger buns with a little bit of extra mayo, to enjoy the contrast between hot and cold. It's delicious any way you serve it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Stop reading now if you're offended by folks who change a recipe and then rate it.... I left out the cranberries simply because I had seedless red grapes I wanted to use up instead. I used fresh dill (again, had to use it up), a whole Jazz red apple instead of 1/4 of a green one, added minced celery, substituted almonds for the walnuts - and my husband said he thought it tasted like the chicken salad at Panera! Pretty high praise, I think. I didn't measure the green onion, and wish I had put in more, but other than that - wonderful recipe that lends itself to being 'customized' to whatever you have on hand! I'm eating the leftovers as I type this at midnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I used a whole chicken that I inadvertently overcooked (ALWAYS set the timer). I used tarragon instead of dill, celery instead of onions, and sunflower seeds instead of pecans (as those were the ingredients I had). I did use the lime juice and thought it added a wonderful component to the dish. Rave reviews from all who tried it, so I will probably continue making it this way. If I hadn’t found this recipe, I would have never thought to put dried cranberries in chicken salad – simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This has become my go-to chicken salad. I love all the flavors. I use cashews instead of pecans just because I'm not much of a fan. It's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States